Poets logo

The poet searching in vain for a muse, lost

-

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 26 days ago 1 min read

glazed, the opportunist struggle of the bacterium

can I dream? I can see but I cannot hear

the winds that whip through the strains,

The drains, the streams the run away from my deep well of

pain. Do I feel pain? Am I a programmed puppet,

They say a marionette feels most free being manipulated by their strings

The reason why Orpheus
braved the underworld
Yet could not find the strength to not turn
To make a glance at
Why must I differ? I suffer? I sent the desire of the day, dripping like a slow drip of melting wax

I long as a slippery cat in the alley as I sip the concentrated nectar of the night, so jewel indigo and green

Storms that haunt my heart

Storms that haunt

I'm so angry with myself for golden woes

For silver muses that churn storms into

Death.

——

A companion to this poem.

heartbreak

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Jennifer David21 days ago

    I love when I read someone's writing and can easily fall into the story their telling. This is definitely one of those pieces. But even more, I like that you added music that made it so I was fully immersed in your poem's world. wonderful!

  • Azeem Writes23 days ago

    This is a beautiful writeup Melissa.

  • "They say a marionette feels most free being manipulated by their strings" Oooo, this line was so deep! I loved that you wrote this as a companion to your other poem. So well done!

  • shanmuga priya26 days ago

    Your writing is remarkable!

  • Cathy holmes26 days ago

    Nicely done. I understand the lost muse. Maybe something will be left behind after the storms. We can only hope.

Melissa IngoldsbyWritten by Melissa Ingoldsby

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.