Poets logo

The poet’s choice

-

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished about a month ago 1 min read
10
Orpheus and Eurydice from Portrait of a Lady on Fire

an uncomfortable welling, a gushing sound I felt in my chest,

Pervading my heart

Like an echo from

Orpheus

Barely turning, whispering the saddest farewell

Can you feel how deeply I feel your loss

Can you feel how deeply I feel this sadness

I can't lose you

Death will not take you from me

Yet, I do not want you to be mine

Merely, safe and alive

It tears me to feel your mind rooted with screeching and scratching and unrooted soil

I'll take the poet’s choice over the Renaissance romance

As you were once mine

Now I collect my tears in a line

So potent and pungent

Can you send your love through a soft line

In a closed off piece of poetry

That has no metaphor

Only life.

heartbreakFriendship
10

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • C. Rommial Butler21 days ago

    The theme of Eurydice and Orpheus well-wrought into a short poem! All he had to do was not look back, but how can he fail, out of concern for the one he loves, to check over his shoulder that she's alright? "Old habits die hard"!

  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    Oh my. This is beautiful. I love the ending.

  • An Orpheus-related resuscitation or resurrection from the dead?

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    "Can you send your love through a soft line In a closed off piece of poetry That has no metaphor Only life." Whoaaaa, these lines were so profound! Your poem was so poignantly beautiful!

  • Mariann Carrollabout a month ago

    Very poignant poetry . Excellent raw poetry

  • JBazabout a month ago

    What a beautiful haunting poem to read in the morning.

  • Alex H Mittelman about a month ago

    A beautiful poem with lots of life!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.