Poets logo

The Pink House at Nguabo

A poem about Puerto RICO

By Anna cruzPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Pink House at Nguabo
Photo by Erol Ahmed on Unsplash

On the edge of the beach

On the corner of the only winding road into town

Sits a great big victorian pink house

Overlooking the fishing town across the school

Up the hill and up the road

Pink and white with large bay windows

Beautiful wood and glass doors covered with lace curtains

A large open porch surrounds it halfway

Looking into the past wondering if it could only speak

What would we hear, what would it say

Who were the people who lived there

It resembles a small mansion in a sort of way

How old is it and when was it built?

Were the owners from another land

No one in town knows although I dreamed

Its been there as long as the current residents could remember

One day I’ll come back

Sadly, I came back years later to find the mansion abandoned

All its beauty and glory gone

As the Atlantic ocean claims the mansion by the sea

Slowly sinking into the waters offshore.

They say climate change is pulling it into the waters.

I saw apathy and lack of will to save it

From falling into the Atlantic Ocean

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Anna cruz

I like writing short stories and poetry. I like to blog about thrifting and many other subjects. I hope you enjoy my writing. Read my blog at www.savingshouse.blogspot.com and visit my website at www.vintageoldtreasures.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.