Poets logo

The Perfect Daughter

"Why do you still stress her?"

By CatPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Prom night, 2013.

Part 1

If it weren’t for this

pen and paper

I might’ve gone crazy.

No time for fun and games

yet to you,

I’m still lazy.

-

I’m not saying I’m the

“golden child”,

but I’m not out there

like the other kids

doing wrong, acting wild.

-

Trying to be

The Perfect Daughter.

All the while I’m playing

Mommy.

Changing diapers,

making bottles.

Never has it ever been

about

me.

-

He’s too young to appreciate.

But it’s the least you can

do to just

stop and thank

me.

-

And yet you still want to yell?

Ask him of his childhood.

I’m sure I ring a bell.

-

For all the fussing,

all the crying,

all the fighting.

Handling all this while

I’m multiplying.

-

Trying to be

The Perfect Daughter.

All the while I’m still playing

Mommy.

Part 2

I tell my friend,

“Man, I wish I could be you.

If I had good grades in your family,

my folks would be so proud of me too.”

-

They’d say,

“Hey, straight A’s,

I wanna take you out for some ice cream.”

Those words would let my eyes water

and make my smile beam.

-

And If I had a game,

I know for sure they’d be cheering my way.

Win or lose,

it doesn’t matter.

Their presence would still make my day.

-

Now,

back to my world

where to them I have

no talent.

I’m not the “proper girl”

and I don’t own an eye palette.

-

But now I’ve won.

The job is done.

My trophies lost under a dresser.

-

So tell me,

"Why do you still stress her?"

Part 3

Rose to the top and it was never acknowledged.

Later that night, I stood up and I cried.

My friends all asking me how you reacted,

and because I still love you

I faked a smile and I lied.

-

I should speak the truth.

Tell people what you do.

About how much I did for you

and him,

was never enough.

-

When they say that I

exaggerate

on how much you don’t appreciate,

I’ll show them this poem

and they’ll know.

-

Life is tough.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Cat

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.