Poets logo

The Other Side of Rain

A poem inspired by a famous painting. 🎨

By Gina C.Published 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
"The Singing Butler" by Jack Vettriano

Once again I didn't

do the things (I said I'd)

get to;

I have yet to

make the sound of silence

make the kind of sense (where I'm not)

hanging on the fence of {{yesterday}}...

I'm waiting for

[[I'm hoping that]]

the rustling rain around me...

will hydroplane these

thoughts of nothing far

away.

*

On the other side of rain, there is

a place where...

people dance away

[[the strain]]

(of all)

their woes;

on mirror-like pavement (that)

reflects the

{{better side}}

of sorrow;

we are

all phantoms (dancing on)

the other side of rain (and all)

[[the snow]].

*

Once again, I think

I've found a way

(to plain out)

hate me;

though I have

somehow rediscovered

(all my)

worth;

I'm waiting for

[[I'm hoping that]]

the rustling rain around me...

will somehow keep

(me grounded)

here

on Earth.

*

On the other side of rain, there is

a place where...

people dance away

their melancholy

~and~

[[their blues]]...

on mirror-like pavement

(that)

reflects the

better side

[[of heartache]];

we are

all phantoms (dancing on)

a train

(just on)

the other side of rain and all our

{{heartbreak avenues}}.

Gina C. 🧚‍♀️✨

***

This poem was inspired by Jack Vettriano's painting, "The Singing Butler".

Welcome to my Famous Painting poetry series. :) If you enjoyed this piece, you might also like this one, which is part of the same series:

***

Thank you so much for reading! ☺️ I'm working really hard to grow my community on Vocal, so if you enjoyed this poem, I'd be over the moon if we could be friends and support each other here!

I reciprocate all comments, hearts, and subscriptions. :) ❤️

inspirational

About the Creator

Gina C.

Achievements:

  • Twice-published in Vocal's Moment of Freedom Collection:

My Soul of Red

Free Verse

Free-Form poet of ethereal style🧚‍♀️✨

Fantasy writer

A sucker for a good rhyme

Follow my Ghosts of Relationships' Past series:)

TT: poetry.in_pajamas

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Michelle Truman | Prose and Puns | Noyath Books2 years ago

    I love your style 🖤 and those first three lines hit me like a Mack truck.

  • Oh my goodness Gina this took my breath away! You did a stunning job at conveying this painting in your words. I loved how some of the words were crossed out and new ones added. Felt authentic and artistic

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    This was gorgeous and those last few lines were incredible. I loved so many of your expressions and word choices in this one. And of course, I've always loved this artwork. Well done, Gina :)

  • This was lovely

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Beautiful poem. Well done.

  • J. S. Wade2 years ago

    Masterful. Love the painting and your poem. “… the other side of rain…”. Is an awesome metaphor. The title and theme of a novel. 🥰

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Awesome!!!💕😊❤️

Gina C.Written by Gina C.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.