Poets logo

The old toys.

The toys we once couldn't live without.

By shireen naazPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like
The old toys.
Photo by Jennifer Martin on Unsplash

I remember as a kid I was really possessive of my toys . I used to take care of them and would take them to sleep with me. I poured too much love till my parents used to buy me a new toy. Now my mother would put all my old toys in a carboard box and keep it aside . And after some time I would forget about it and would be busy playing with new one. I have a fade memory that one day my mother took out those toys and were talking about giving them away to some kids ,I overheard the conversation and ran towards the storeroom to grab all of those . My mother asked me why would you want to keep these old toys you no longer want? I haven't seen you playing with them since a while nor I have heard you say anything about them. I screamed ok I may not be playing but I won't let any other kid to play with them either. Now when I think it was such an act of selfishness , Although my mother later on without telling me gave those toys away. I wish she had taught me how important it is to let go of the old things .I learned this know-how but it took some time.

I think our generation lack this very capability of letting go of the old things even though we get new things in life and by" things'' I do mean'' people''. We forget that there is a difference between toys and humans. Please lets teah our kids someday that how important it is not to keep the things that do not belong to us. they are someone else's keeping. So smile and let go.

By david Griffiths on Unsplash

performance poetryfact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

shireen naaz

I am an 18 year old Y/A so the world to me is a very strange place right now I am still learning, experiencing and discovering new aspects of life so maybe with me you can once again see the world differently.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.