Poets logo

My Black Parade

An open poem to the person I once was. (inspired by the album Welcome to the Black Parade from My Chemical Romance)

By Radio S. Published 21 days ago 2 min read
2
My Black Parade
Photo by Paul Volkmer on Unsplash

As I march through the ashen halls of my mind

Many things I do find

Things that hurt

Things that bite

Things that got me through the night

Things that I once held near

Things that have long since disappeared

Through these empty halls and haunted rooms

I see the person who lived before me, and by that I mean you

You are the ghost that walks behind me

Lurking in the shadows of my mind

Fading in and out, always blurry

When I try to shed light on you, you're off in a hurry

I want to accept you for who you are

But I feel like we are just two passing cars

On journeys of our own and so close together

Travelling on the road to forever

Two planets in orbit around each other

Two lost souls under cover.

I remember you

In the darkness of your room

I remember you

Wishing you were buried in a tomb

I remember you

Trying to save your skin

I remember you

Believing that you were full of sin

I remember you

All the hurt that you've been through

I have something that I would like to tell you

You are stronger than you think

More beautiful than you know

And just because you're a bit strange and dark

Does not mean that you're broken

You don't have to be wound up so tight

You can sleep soundly through the night

You still have to fight

So tell yourself

On your darkest days

You are enough

You are beautiful

And that your shadow stays

With you forever.

I am more than what the past may define

I want to move forward and leave your demons behind

I love you more than you know

Though I don't say it enough

And even though you're my alter ego

The darkest parts of me

Without you I wouldn't be able to see

I can see the good and bad

Based on all the experiences we've had

You only want to protect me

And I want to help you

So how about we come together

And see what our minds can do

I will wait in the light for you

Open arms for the person who got me to where I need to be

Thank you to my shadow

For always having my back

No matter what the world threw at me

My shadow fought back

My demons still haunt me

Like poltergeists in an ancient house

An exorcism for the demons

Salt and holy water for ghosts

I can't let my brain wander too far down memory lane

For it is there that I find you most.

I accept you for who you are

And who you used to be

You can rest now

And leave the past where it should be.

sad poetryProseFree Verse
2

About the Creator

Radio S.

One of the best things we have is our imagination. In the words of Robin Williams; "You're only given one little spark of madness, you mustn't lose it.".

Instagram: radiostar66613

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani20 days ago

    Remarkable poem - amazing writing. I can resonate with this feeling of the shadow of our past.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.