Poets logo

The Night of (all) the Living

Inspired by a dream; paired with a famous painting. 🎨

By Gina C.Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 6 min read
14
"The Dream" by Frida Kahlo

It started as a dream,

I think...

there -

under the shadows of the moon.

In shades (and hues) of blue

{{and pink}};

I think I saw my life [[end all]]

too soon.

I woke up in the clouds

{{then blinked}}

and all of a damn sudden, I

was moving,

flying through...

a galaxy devoid [[of sound]]

and things

that would have put (me in)

{{my room}}.

Then, there -

out of the stardust

[[came]]

a being, (a premonition) who...

was not masculine

[[nor feminine]],

but a skeleton of dreams

(who seemed)

to represent MY OWN [[impending doom]].

"Who... are you?" (I asked)

though I could barely [[grasp]]

the meaning of my words

(as I)

just faintly heard (and saw) them through...

{{the blue}}

of space and time

as we flew !~fast~!

(and our) existential purpose seemed

to slowly come

{{unglued}}.

"I am the ghost of

Día de

(los muertos)-past"

***the figure said***

"I am Noche de los vivos -

~~~~~~~~the night (of all)~~~~~~~

{{THE LIVING}};

I am here to guide you

in your sleep

to see what kind of life

(on Earth)

your troubled essence (has)

been giving."

Then, before (I could) respond

I think [[I thought]] I witnessed

(my)

own spirit (leave) my body...

I watched (the dimness) all

around us fade

as constellation {*citrus*} trees

began to blossom

(as did)

{*{daffodils}*} and poppies.

"Follow me,"

it said to me

and I waded through [[the hollowness]]

of water;

and as I did

I sunk amid

{{colossal twists}} of which

I thought I was

{{the author}}.

All around me, I

[~began to see~]

my story pass [[as if]]

the footprints of my life

{{were scripted}} in

**********THE STARS**********...

"Tell God your plans, and he

will laugh," (it said),

and then it stuck [[its hand]]

inside my chest (and)

***garnered out*** my

{~~WARRING HEART~~}.

Oh, how time

{{ESCAPED ME}}, I...

was racing -

{{{blazing}}} through

the sky (without my) [[earthly blood]]...

then like *a lotus*

(like) morning {{GLORIES}} and rosehips, I

could feel my essence (like a flower)

start

to slowly come undone (and)

softly *BUD*.

I was something of a *constellation aster*...

I was purple, {blooming}

~*zooming*~ through

[[an hourglass-stained sky]]...

until I stopped and spun

in circles, and

began to plummet

(faster)...

FASTER -

(into terrains and summits, that)

[[were part of a strange planet]], called

"Me, MYSELF...and I."

"What is this place?"

I asked the being, who looked at me (with)

unforgiving eyes...

"This is where

>>>you judge your will<<<

(to see if you're) fully fulfilled

--or if--

you're living in

A WORLD CONSTRUCTED OF MERE LIES.

"I live an honest life," I said -

but as I thought about it, >>and<<

*as I*

fought around it...

as I saw it play out right before my eyes...

I realized I felt full of dread, for I

(through all this time)

had, of course, been wearing a disguise.

Perhaps, **perhaps***, (it was all the)

masks I'd worn...

through 2020 - into this new year's

quick uprise,

~~but I'd collapsed~~

[[my subconscious cracked]] -

(and I realized I)

>>was no longer someone I<<

think I thought I {{recognized}}.

And that was when

~~the skeleton~~

leaned into me and

pointed to the vast, hypnotic skies...

and oh, how right before me

[[[I]]]

began to see my higher self

deplore me, (for)

my present self was now (somehow)

>>R*O*B*O*T*I*C<<, ossified.

Stiff and stuck,

(I had no movement)

I was running fast

but

[[staying still]]...

fighting currents, going nowhere going through it

walking up an endless, inclined hill.

Tick, tick, ticking

(I was drifting) !but! was stagnant...

{{I was whole but somehow also ** *fragments * *...}}

(my soul was nothing, but)

[[a ticking time bomb with]]

a senseless sense of time...

then I felt myself disperse and form star droplets

falling freely from a constellation's

*

d

r

i

p

p

i

n

g

*

*

**faucet**

and each and every part of me -

my {heart}

and -hands-

and all my thoughts

(became) >>> safari comets, >>>>that then

took off through space

* * * * * * * >>>>>aboard a rocket------>>>>>

!!!each!!!

(within their place)

[[[unlocking paradigms]]].

I settled in the dust somewhere

(I think)

upon the ruby rust of Mars...

all around me

(I saw faces)

made not up of beauty

(but of)

adumbrations (truly) --and of--

loosely-strung guitars.

Then, the music...

🎶 🎶🎵(the strange music)🎶🎵 🎶

echoed through me, and

through all shades of light (that were not)

!!!bright!!!

[[nor gloomy]]

yet ultraviolet; infrared...

The skeleton -

(my friend, the skeleton)

looked at me with hollow, space-draped eyelets

and I began to feel all [[tensity]] between us

FINALLY... break bread.

"Now's your chance,"

(he whispered to me)

"Go ahead, my friend, go right ahead and dance...

go on, go on - now is your chance," (he said),

I know you've always wanted to be red."

And that was when

- - just for a moment - -

(yes, for just one moment) out in space...

I felt the doom of Earth's blue surface

(cease to cool my fiery purpose)

and I danced on top of ruby,

SCARLET Mars-red fate.

Dance I did...

(~*~oh how I danced~*~)

amid all the many glowing faces in the sky...

of versions of myself from my soul's past,

*because*, alas -

I was once bees, and birds,

~and elephants;

(as was I)

purple peonies and butterflies.

"Tell God your plans and he

will laugh,"

[[I whispered]]

*as I*

watched my many pieces fade into the sky...

>>>then my friend

[[the skeleton]]

handed me my mangled map

my tangled graph

my labeled draft of life (strapped to a)

[[[[[thousnad sticks of dynamite]]]]}.

"How am I to know (if I'm)

supposed to be ** *a fire's glow* **

>>or if I'm meant to flow

~~like water~~

through all of life's low tides?"

"My child, you will see

that you are free

(no matter in which)

element or format you reside."

And that was when I realized

* **that the dynamite** *

was made of light

and therefore it was also

made of lovely {{ fire }}...

(so I took)

the ticking time bombs in my hands...

and with one strike {{{{ I began, I started to ignite }}}}

the love

{{and brightly glowing}}

~laughter strands~

that my little, Earthly heart desired.

>>>And then,

I think that I exploded;

I think that all my fibers (became)

spiderwebs with notes of turquoise stardust way up high...

>>and then I woke up to red roses that<<

....had blossomed under

{never ending, sapphire blue skies}.

How ironic, how

symbolic (that)

with ruby red and azure writhing...

I could be lilac, I...

could be a shade of violet, I...

could be fire's glow and water's flow

(during the)

wondrous Night of (all) the Living.

-Gina C. 🧚‍♀️✨

***

Author's Note: Día de los muertos, or "Day of the Dead", is a Mexican holiday in which people celebrate their loved ones who have passed. It is meant to reunite the living and those who are no longer with us.

My dream was the ironic opposite of Día de los muertos. During this crazy, star-filled and moonlit adventure - which my subconscious called "The Night of the Living" - a faceless spirit encouraged me to challenge, question, and celebrate my existence on Earth - to honor and accept my blue as much as my red.

I write a lot about having a conflicted spirit of both blue and red - of equal parts fire and water. If you follow me, you'll see this theme pop up a lot. While I am the most at home in blue, I've always strived and dreamed of being more permanently red. The fire exists within me, and it does shine through at times. Once I am blue, I always strive to be Red again. 💃🏽✨

I am a huge fan of the artwork of Frida Kahlo and thought that this painting of hers - which is called "The Dream" - paired with my strange, existential adventure quite well. Frida Kahlo is considered one of Mexico's greatest artists.

***

Welcome to my ✨Surreal Poetry Series✨. :) If you enjoyed this piece, you might also like this one, which was also written for the Full Moon Challenge:

Did you like seeing a poem paired with a famous painting? If so, you might enjoy my Famous Painting & Poetry Series. Here is another from that collection:

If you are interested to read more work of mine inspired by my ongoing Blue & Red Theme, you might enjoy these:

***

Thank you so much for reading! ☺️ I'm working really hard to grow my community on Vocal, so if you enjoyed this poem, I'd be over the moon if we could be friends and support each other here!

I reciprocate all comments, hearts, and subscriptions. :) ❤️

surreal poetry
14

About the Creator

Gina C.

Achievements:

  • Twice-published in Vocal's Moment of Freedom Collection:

My Soul of Red

Free Verse

Free-Form poet of ethereal style🧚‍♀️✨

Fantasy writer

A sucker for a good rhyme

Follow my Ghosts of Relationships' Past series:)

TT: poetry.in_pajamas

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Faith Lovellabout a year ago

    Wow I felt like i was there in your dream for this, an enjoyable & magical journey ! Loved it

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Very well done. I love how your words so easily flow together. Beautiful and meaningful work.

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    I love this piece so much! Your writing enamors me. I loved the riding the rollercoaster of your emotional, inspiring journey, and the imagery is beautiful and intense. :)

  • Kali Mailhotabout a year ago

    This was like dozing off in a fever dream after a gulp of cough medicine, full lucidity and clarity. You’ve put something so prophetic into words, and every line drew me in more. If I can read through a whole poem without having to re-read a line twice, I fall in love with it and remember it at once. I truly love your poem. I feel it elevates my own will to write. Thank you so much for sharing and best of luck in the challenge!

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    What is not to love? The form, the depts, the exploration. Wonderful

  • There is so much in this, almost an anti-haiku, something I will revisit, absolutely amazing

  • I was whole but somehow also fragments. I loved this line so much! I only came to know about The Day of the Dead when I watched Coco a few years back. I loved the concept of Night of the Living for this poem. So brilliant!

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Wow. Wonderful and intriguing masterpiece. Yet beautiful it’s clarity and mystique. Your connection to your subconscious is amazing. 🥰❤️Love your poetry.

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Very creative❤️ I love how each stanza was formed differently. Beautiful and well done!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Oh my. This is a wild ride through the cosmos of self-reflection. Very creative and extremely well done.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    First, I have to give love to the amazing image of Frida's! The thing I loved about this poem the most was that even before I reached your notes at the end, I noticed all the little nods to other poetry of yours I've read. It made this experience (and that is what it was read this gem) more special and so very genuine. Really wonderful work!!

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    This is surreal yet believable. Such a creative mind! The structure is the masterpiece. It’s innovative yet familiar, calming and chaos, I’m just swept away into the adventure. I think the more times I enjoy reading it, I’ll pick up another meaning, a different intention, it’s that good! And always such satisfaction at the end! Great job Gina!

  • This comment has been deleted

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.