Poets logo

Second Chances?

This poem is about a friend I lost some time ago, and how one of my new coworkers looks exactly like her, acts like her and it's all too much at times

By Matthew MccaheyPublished 17 days ago Updated 15 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2024
Second Chances?
Photo by Ellie Adams on Unsplash

“Hey man I’ve noticed things are always awkward when I’m around”

"Yeah, I’ve been meaning to talk to you about that."

“Did I do something wrong, or upset you?”

“No, none of that, how do I put this? You remind me of a dear friend I lost quite a bit ago.”

“Oh, I’m sorry to hear that.”

“You have the same mannerisms, you laugh at the same jokes, it's like I'm staring at an old photograph of when we were younger.”

“That sounds rough man, anything I can do to make things less awkward?

“This feels like a blessing and a curse all at the same time, am I being punished or is the universe trying to give me a second chance”

“I’d like to think you are being given a chance to finally heal but that's your choice to make.”

“Maybe you are right, maybe this is how I can finally find a way to move on.”

“Well one day when you are ready, I’d love to hear more about her.”

“I'd like that too.”

Stream of ConsciousnessMental HealthFree Verse

About the Creator

Matthew Mccahey

I want to use stories and life experiences to allow others to be open about their own.

https://linktr.ee/Authormack729

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (23)

  • Melissa Ingoldsby14 days ago

    Oh this hurts . I’m so sorry you lost her. This makes me feel so sad as I lost a friend too

  • TahimaAni14 days ago

    beautiful poem..loved it♥️

  • ROCK 14 days ago

    Newly subscribed; great piece léaving me curious! Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Ameer Bibi14 days ago

    Amazing read though Congratulations

  • john ogboso15 days ago

    Good keep it up

  • Kathy Tsoukalas15 days ago

    Beautiful read - I vote for the "second chance". Congratulations on the top story!

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Congratulations on your top story.

  • Sehrish Ghaffar15 days ago

    Nice story

  • Machrus VLOG15 days ago

    very good

  • Margaret Brennan15 days ago

    Such cherished memories awaiting to be told. Brilliant. Congratulations on TS

  • Kendall Defoe 15 days ago

    This is a David Fincher film waiting to happen!

  • D.K. Shepard15 days ago

    This has such heart! Congrats on Top story!

  • Andrea Corwin 15 days ago

    .... and congratulations on the TS🥳

  • Cathy holmes15 days ago

    Wonderfully written. Congrats on the TS.

  • Andrea Corwin 15 days ago

    Wow, I think she is very correct in what she told you!! thanks for sharing this, it is a profound piece!

  • Back to say congrats for Top Story!👏🥳

  • Aw so special, in my opinion! Definitely a chance to heal, but you need to be ready for it!

  • T. Licht15 days ago

    Wow, every line of dialogue was so powerful. Congrats on top story!

  • Gosh I don't kmow what I'd do if I were you. Sending you lots of love and hugs 🥺❤️

  • Joe Patterson17 days ago

    Wonderful tribute to your friend.

  • Babs Iverson17 days ago

    Superbly written and loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

Matthew MccaheyWritten by Matthew Mccahey

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.