Poets logo

The morning catches me

A short sonnet of consolation

By Teddy MacQuarriePublished 8 months ago 1 min read
1
The morning catches me
Photo by Sandra Kaas on Unsplash

The morning catches me in that sometimes-

brief moment I have every day when

I must summon my resolve to bear the

world again. Today her gracenotes have

smuggled through and in this hour

I am still. You met me last night in secret

and you set joy to my body like a song.

This morning, I yearn to see your silhouette

in my bedroom window, but I summon my

resolve and throw myself upon your absence

like the dawn on last night’s stars. Your secret

whispers from our nighttime union remain –

and now I know that there is nothing under the

sun or the night sky – nothing – that is not you.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Teddy MacQuarrie

A recent transplant to Seattle from Texas, Teddy is a longtime writer and poet whose interests span film, food, philosophy, and the things that make us go "huh?"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.