Poets logo

The Intimacy of Unknowing

By Teddy MacQuarriePublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
The Intimacy of Unknowing
Photo by Štefan Štefančík on Unsplash

I do not know the sound of your voice,

nor the shape of your silhouette

in my bedroom window at dawn.

I do not know the feel of your skin

nor your warmth as your heart beats

when we lie next to one other.

I do not know the thoughts

that you hold with discretion,

nor the ones that you long to reveal.

You have yet to come to me,

cloaked in the secrecy of night,

to surrender to love's delectations.

And yet I hear your voice in the utterances

released by every lover of life

who have availed themselves to all pleasure and pain.

I feel you touching me when, at the end of the day,

I release all of pretenses and my soul,

naked and bare, abdicates its rule to all that is.

Your thoughts become mine when I reach the limit of my knowing,

and before the marvels of this world,

I give my consent to unknowing, and sit in wonder.

It is there that I find that you are already with me,

in the part of me where I am not...

closer to me than I am to myself.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Teddy MacQuarrie

A recent transplant to Seattle from Texas, Teddy is a longtime writer and poet whose interests span film, food, philosophy, and the things that make us go "huh?"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Teddy MacQuarrie is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.