Poets logo

THE MONEY MONGER

Someone needs a break

By Victoria Published 6 months ago 1 min read

My attention is fixated on the news,

Engaged in daily business for profit,

No time for leisure or self-reflection,

I have become the sole advocate for myself,

Prioritizing tomorrow over nature,

And fighting for tomorrow more than it does for itself.

I may not excel in my endeavors,

Yet I persist in being true to myself,

The one person who never abandons me,

My dreams, my desires, and my aspirations.

I have recently come to realize that I have lost touch,

With the inner sanctuary I once created in my heart,

A place of solace and rejuvenation,

I no longer seem to visit there.

My friends, who used to frequent this space, wonder why I have become so withdrawn,

But I feel they fail to comprehend the weight I carry,

For I have borne it alone,

Thus, I have become a recluse.

I am weary of this new version of myself,

Yearning for immediate gratification,

Yet the more I strive to make it happen,

I find myself unable to sleep, consumed by thoughts,

Questioning if there exists an easier path to my goals.

Now, I understand the need to temporarily abandon this persona,

A day or two of respite will suffice,

My phone and other devices should also take a break,

Allowing me to rediscover my authentic self,

For I am confident that I can.

Mental Health

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    VWritten by Victoria

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.