Poets logo

The Man On the Hill

Fear the Man

By Jasmine HarrisPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
The Man On the Hill
Photo by Ján Jakub Naništa on Unsplash

Day after day and night after night,

The man on the hill is keeping perfectly still.

He keeps in the shadows. He stays in the dark.

No one who goes near him, for all are afraid.

He grins with every single tooth, so sharp and so bloody.

His eyes are as black as night.

He calls to me in my dreams.

I try to silence his voice in my head.

I try to fall asleep.

He beckons to me from the darkness.

Like a sirens song, it pulls you in.

I try to fight it with all of my being.

He watches me from the shadows.

Patiently waiting for me to give in.

Cloaked in darkness, he waits for me.

Slowly I lose his game.

Slipping ever so gracefully into the black.

He welcomes me with open arms.

I am his for all eternity.

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Valentina Savage12 months ago

    Wow! Superbe

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.