Poets logo

The Last Real Estates

Greystone Estates

By Lisa HerdmanPublished about a year ago 1 min read
13
The Last Real Estates
Photo by Emma Frances Logan on Unsplash

The last real estates

were behind my house.

The fence towered around acres of land

containing a body of water

and a cemetery.

---

My best friend and I toured the grounds.

Morgan and I were

our neighborhood's representatives.

Morgan’s sister almost drowned in the lake,

and my mom yelled at me

when I came home covered in algae

from jumping in after her.

---

The rich people must imagine being buried

in their beautiful backyards.

Morgan and I wanted

to be buried there too.

Morgan once stated that

rich people get more trees

around their burial spots.

I wonder if I’ll get a tree.

Morgan was sure I would.

---

She would pick all the

professionally planted

forget-me-nots

and put them in a vase for me.

I would put them on my desk

so they could look out over the lake,

wondering and remembering

where they came from.

social commentaryinspirational
13

About the Creator

Lisa Herdman

I'm learning to be wildly inappropriate, ridiculous, needy - and alive.

Thank you so much for all the support!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Forest Knight8 months ago

    "The Last Real Estates" is a captivating read that explores the profound connection between people and their homes. For those considering real estate investments in London, I recommend Forest Knight. They specialize in the dynamic London property market and can provide expert guidance for potential investors. https://www.forestknight.co.uk/

  • Wistful imaginings, not so much of death but rather of being remembered & how. And how ultimately our graves may very well be the only piece of real estate we own--until even that is forgotten & past & our entire existence becomes remembered only as the dust & dirt, plants, trees, waters & rains, birds & beasts who continue to move & live & die here.

  • Jay Kantorabout a year ago

    Hi Lisa ~ Just as an 'aside' the "Rich" most likely have a 'mosquito' issue with that "Body" of water around them! *I like you! - Vocal Authors Community - Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.