Poets logo

Vicious Ambition

Not enough on my plate

By Lisa HerdmanPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
3
Vicious Ambition
Photo by Rob Wicks on Unsplash

What a word,

hungry.

---

I insist on using it, though it presents discomfort,

pain, excitement, strangeness.

Too powerful so we become nervous around it.

Excellence, relentlessness,

---

brokenness.

---

I want it, and I just want.

I will squeeze it until it is pulpy.

I will pay for the bitterness of the drink.

I am Hungry.

---

I am hungry when rent is due and I am a broken fence line,

the grass is mowed but my car won't start.

I am growling amongst the sighs,

and talking like I own them.

---

I am selling myself tall

and dreaming of top-shelf.

I will be foolish and carve the edges,

until the gardens in my backyard

quit thinking there will be plants.

---

My merit is a destined late arrival.

I am three pages deep and ready for prologue,

a four-lane highway and misleading exits.

---

So I am full

and putting on the weight of life

I am spent

and entering the main course.

---

A stale lesson on giving,

the moment before I question

---

if I can have what you didn't finish.

slam poetryperformance poetryinspirational
3

About the Creator

Lisa Herdman

I'm learning to be wildly inappropriate, ridiculous, needy - and alive.

Thank you so much for all the support!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • F. Leonora Solomonabout a year ago

    oh gosh, surprise after surprise. the way you manipulate words--lovely.❤️

  • I resonated once again with each & every phrase, each & every line, the multiplicities of paradox & mixed metaphors--& then, the coup de grâce, "if I can have what you didn't finish." Perfecto! That is "hungry"! (And pretty much what happens every time my wife & I go out to eat.)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.