Poets logo

Fracture/Fraction

One-fifth

By Lisa HerdmanPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
4
Fracture/Fraction
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Embodying one half of an eye-roll

A stunned tongue

A doughy touch

A critical development.

---

I'm a burial plot in advance

A back-drawer pen

A daughter

Sometimes needed and forgotten.

---

Inevitable

Discussed and disgusting

A softness due to mold

A spring cleaning.

---

Maybe they'll cut the grass and leave it balding.

---

Maybe your tennis hand will become twenty percent destroyed.

---

Maybe one-fifth is all it takes to feel sorry for yourself.

social commentarysad poetry
4

About the Creator

Lisa Herdman

I'm learning to be wildly inappropriate, ridiculous, needy - and alive.

Thank you so much for all the support!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • F. Leonora Solomonabout a year ago

    Lisa, you always capture me with your prose or poetry.❤️

  • Perhaps even less. I know my eyerolls don't stop at half when I'm launching into the pit of self-pity. They roll when I think for a moment how grand I might be, then roll again fully the other direction as I berate myself for how awful I am. The randomness of our thoughts, the dichotomies & contradictions expressed without a breath in between--how you've written this is just so true to life. I could identify with every word, every line.

  • Testabout a year ago

    Oh, Lisa, this is so evocative and poignant! So many wonderful lines/phrases here, and I especially love: “I'm a burial plot in advance” … so much expressed in so few words 💕🙂

  • Jay Kantorabout a year ago

    Dear Lisa ~ I often write - 'For The Kids Someday' - This may be something you may want to 'Archive' for yours, someday? Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, Cal 'Senior' Vocal Author

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.