Poets logo

No, I won't, Seb

All about management

By Lisa HerdmanPublished about a year ago 1 min read
5

I think you tried to make whimsy out of grass and ended up with a house full of dying plants.

I thought, well hey, maybe if I'm nice enough no one will drop a washer on me. Maybe when a car hits the front of my workplace, they'll let me sit down.

Maybe, when a friend says they want to hang out, they won't have an ulterior motive.

We won't visit the sunflowers while you send me mixed messages and we won't play songs at the bar as an apology.

We won't have to make a villain out of me for realizing my feelings are gone.

I brought the flowers in the house with good intentions, but just like me and many others, they didn't last.

excerptsperformance poetry
5

About the Creator

Lisa Herdman

I'm learning to be wildly inappropriate, ridiculous, needy - and alive.

Thank you so much for all the support!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knockabout a year ago

    The bitterness of not being seen, considered, just to be with you for the sake of being with you, & how something within us dies, even as we bring it inside & tell the world it doesn't matter. You can't hurt me, though secretly I know you can. Ya struck a chord with me. Whether it's the chord you intended to strike, I could not say. But you definitely struck a chord with me.

  • F. Leonora Solomonabout a year ago

    i love your style so much Lisa. ❤️

  • Testabout a year ago

    So well expressed, Lisa 💕🙂

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.