Poets logo

The Last Picnic

Lost Love

By NikkiPublished about a year ago 2 min read
The Last Picnic
Photo by Brigitte Tohm on Unsplash

Love is having two hearts connected by a single invisible thread. When the two hearts are separated the thread is stretching to keep the hearts together. When the two hearts are united the thread retracts. Bringing the two hearts closer every time.

“Most important of all, love each other deeply, because love makes you willing to forgive many sins.”

‭‭1 Peter‬ ‭4:8‬ ‭

"I, take thee, to be my wedded wife, to have and to hold from this day forward, for better, for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness and in health, to love and to cherish, till death do us part, according to thee holy ordinance; and thereto I pledge thee my faith."

Even though I'm silent doesn't mean I'm giving up on us. I'm processing how I say how I feel in a different way. I'm trying to communicate with you with the only way I know how. I'm speaking to you in my love language.

I try to send you songs to remind you of our love. To get my point across. I’m trying to show you that the point of it all is that I love you. I remind you of how we don’t make mistakes but happy accidents. Still you are silent.

Maybe a meme would help showing an elderly couple laughing and smiling. The caption says: When asked, How they managed to stay together for 45 years, the woman replies: “We were born in a time,” Where if something is broken, you fix it, rather than throw it away. Still nothing.

I create an Instagram story and share it with you, tagging the couple I found online with the same name as ours. That was sure to get him to say something. Still nothing. I send you another bible verse. Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins. 1 Peter 4:8. I send you a screenshot of my wallpaper at 3:19 the day of our anniversary. I have to get something from you right? Silence.

I send you that a miracle is what seems impossible but happens anyway. I finally end the text with a screen shot of a song by Maxwell Lifetime. You are finally off work and you are here. You walk through the door and I cheerfully greet you. You stay silent and walk off into the darkness of my heart.

love poemsheartbreakexcerpts

About the Creator

Nikki

Sharing my gifts with the world. 💻

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    NikkiWritten by Nikki

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.