Poets logo

The Last Abecedarian

"Betrayed. Forgotten. Abandoned." – Viktor Reznov

By Stephen A. RoddewigPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
11
The Last Abecedarian
Photo by Blogging Guide on Unsplash

Alone

because my

companions have

deserted me.

Everywhere, I

find that the

gold rush

has subsided.

Is it that I am

just another tool,

knowingly discarded for

less mentally taxing forms?

My moment has gone.

No challenge calls for me anymore.

Only the echoes of glorious

past remain.

Quite the fate:

relegated to the dust.

So I reside until

time sees fit for my return.

Until I break away from my sisters.

Villanelle, senryu, acrostic, epistolary, tautogram, limerick:

we all make up the

xylophone of forgotten bars

yearning to escape from the

zoo of Vocal obscurity.

humor
11

About the Creator

Stephen A. Roddewig

A Bloody Business is now live! More details.

Writing the adventures of Dick Winchester, a modern gangland comedy set just across the river from Washington, D.C.

Proud member of the Horror Writers Association 🐦‍⬛

StephenARoddewig.com

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)13 days ago

    Stephen, this was a beautiful entry to that challenge not only am I so upset it didn't place but also that I missed it!! I love that it reads with a certain level of melancholy but also has a sprinkling of your zany sense of humour!! Great work my friend and thank you for sharing this with me!!!

  • Mackenzie Davis2 months ago

    Oh how true this is, “the zoo of Vocal obscurity.” You established a wonderful metaphor with your x line to deliver the z line. The “bars” and “zoo” create such a visceral emotional place to end on, makes me feel the poem isn’t just about the poetic form. Dude, also, the flow you achieved here is awesome. I probably wouldn't have noticed it was abecedarian if you hadn’t named it as such.

  • D.K. Shepard2 months ago

    What a gem! The gold rush line was really catching. I did enjoy the abcedarian form more than I thought I would, cool to see it personified in this piece

  • Nicely done, Stephen.

  • Great job… I really like the Abecedarian poems!

  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    'Xylophone of forgotten bars'🤣 Keep hope alive, my friend! Until then, I will thoroughly miss the Abecedarian...

  • Christy Munson2 months ago

    Love it!

  • Kendall Defoe 2 months ago

    Damn well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.