Poets logo

The Jump

When the life you once lived, no longer fits you

By Juliette IvyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - July 2022
20

I’ve been on a journey; I’ve lived out a story.

I’ve experienced the waves and had the craze.

I feel the crash and maybe it’s brash, but I know it’s all gotta mean something to someone.

My life has been nothing out of an ordinary textbook that an alien perhaps would read, wanting to learn about the human experience.

My identity is in a constant transformation; I experience the nature of this universe playing out in front of my eyes in my daily life. As I change, I seem to become less and less similar to the people, places and things that surround me.

I change until it becomes painfully tight to continue to live what once fit me.

That is the nature of a spiritual awakening. That is the nature of my spiritual awakening and to share the experiences I have, these realizations I gain and these insights I have along the way is what would truly mean something to me.

To have someone see the progress and the journey and how it twists and turns.

To extract meaning from the traumas that I explore so that I can share the deeper reason behind what was causing me suffering and therefore how to resolve it.

I hope to inspire you, perhaps make you feel less alone, maybe validate what you might be experiencing too.

But right now, I’ve got nothing to lose.

My life is at another one of those moments where things need to change. The ship must be jumped from because things are getting too tight and it’s coming to that time.

Taking the leap and sharing the thoughts inside my head feels correct. I don’t know where this will lead to, if it will amount to what I’d hope, all I know is that I need to just do something.

I need to try something different. I cannot keep living the same life.

As I sit in my car, brain fog crippling my ability to express these thoughts to what my self critical judgment would have be the standard, I put my hands out to the universe and take the jump.

I need to get out of my house amongst the very people that instilled the trauma in me that I seek to heal.

I want to experience the life that I’ve dreamed of.

I want to experience the tangible love all around me in people that exchange smiles and have interest in how I’m feeling and what I have to say and how my day is going.

I want to experience abundance and I know that it’s possible because I have seen just how much what I focus on reverberates in my reality. The synchronicities that deliver messages.

There is no one before me to lay out the path of my own unique life that I must walk, so I have no way to know whether I’m doing it right other than to just try what feels right to me and take my shot.

I don’t know how it will be or turn out.

I don’t know where my wildest dreams lie awake, ready to cradle me in their warm welcoming arms.

But I know that it is up to me to take the leap and I am the only one that can make the jump.

So here I go.

inspirational
20

About the Creator

Juliette Ivy

Navigating the seas of a spiritual awakening and the journey of self actualization, I have many stories to tell. Mostly about what I find out when I dive into myself and uncover the root behind my pain.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Deasun T. Smyth2 years ago

    love the front image, and the text.

  • W. Joe O'Banion2 years ago

    Excellent stuff

  • Cathy Marshall2 years ago

    Beautifully expressed, thank you for sharing.

  • Brenton F2 years ago

    Your image drew me in and your words kept me on my seat edge until the very end.

  • Dr R. Evans2 years ago

    Mission accomplished. Your words, whether a “pep talk” or simple exasperation, resonated with me. In a fleeting moment of nostalgia and tears, I was finally confronted by inspiration apparently no longer avoidable. The unfamiliar feeling of hope flashed through my mind for the first time since I don’t know when. Self-discovery and vulnerability will dictate my own timeline. That moment of bravery, terror and sweet freedom you described will hopefully find me again sometime. In the words of the brilliant Elton John (#1 on my bucket list that I am finally seeing in November; and sadly the only thing that comes to mind that I’m looking forward to): for right now, I seem to be remaining “frozen here on the ladder of my life”. Hopefully not for much longer as apparently I am finding myself confessing to the oddly comforting strangers that will read this that I began seeking help this month. Even though it is terrifying to step outside of this comfort zone, I know how I’m living my life is not healthy. And it is causing pain to those I love. It is time to cease shunning all emotion and start trying to create some semblance of a life again. At some point, I will make my jump. I imagine it will feel similar to my actual bungee jump years ago over a rocky canyon in Mexico on my honeymoon. I’m glad I stumbled across this site today. I have attempted to answer my sister’s questions and describe my emotional struggles with my husband to no avail. Support could really aid in my progress. Thank you for sharing such a vulnerable part of yourself with us.

  • Shirley Belk2 years ago

    Loved your story and best of luck in your journey

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.