Poets logo

A familiar wound

How can I leave my pain when it's my home?

By Juliette IvyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2

Submerged in pain for so long

It’s all I really knew

I find myself wanting to go back to it

Because it feels safe and secure

Tucked inside a familiar wound

The blood keeps me warm

The sting soothes me to sleep

But I want something else

I want more than just these four walls

But the light of day almost scars my skin

It feels so unknown when I step into it

But how do I leave the pain when it feels like I’m leaving everything behind?

My life, my memories, if I find you under the rainbow, perched on a cloud, would you even understand the road I took before I got here?

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Juliette Ivy

Navigating the seas of a spiritual awakening and the journey of self actualization, I have many stories to tell. Mostly about what I find out when I dive into myself and uncover the root behind my pain.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Emily Dickerson2 years ago

    many people prefer pain and familiarity to any type of unknown. This is what drives people back to abusive relationships, abusive homes... Nice work! It's so relatable

  • Dr R. Evans2 years ago

    Juliette, this is exactly how I am feeling. Even at this moment, I am experiencing an inner struggle. For months now, I have been fighting spontaneous emotions I immediately want to stifle for protection. I don’t know if you are a Seinfeld fan, but Jerry has a childhood friend “fragile” Frankie Merman. He is super sensitive and when he feels hurt, he runs into the woods, digs a hole and sits in it. Since this was the only example I could think of that captured my first experience, I refer to my sanctuary of avoidance as my hole. It feels very comfortable and safe. I am hesitantly attempting to venture out, but it is much tougher than I ever thought it would be.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.