Poets logo

The Ink to my Words

Memories Materialising as Wraiths

By Poppy Published about a year ago Updated 7 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - April 2023
61

To My Ghost,

You used to be the blood

Pumping through my veins like rivers

Now, you are the ruby red substance

Oozing from the jagged wounds on my skin

Hidden beneath charcoal coloured clothing

That disguises my pain

Almost as well as this smile does

You used to run your fingers along my words

(Grooves in paper notebooks)

Now, you are the ink

(Black and blue like bruises)

Once my audience, now my muse

I wonder if you are still watching the stage

(Even from the backrow)

Maybe I should start wearing white

(So you can see the blood from far away)

I cover my cuts and venture past the moat embracing my house

Between sips from my melancholic flavoured milkshake

I see two girls giggling at the window

A blonde and a brunette, smiles covering half their faces

Huddling together as they share secrets and contentment and promises

The waitress walks right through them

More memories materialising as wraiths

More scars reopening on my skin

More bones bending, whispering warnings of breaking

I conceal the shadows beneath my eyes and steady my shaking hands

Between bites of my nostalgia-battered burger

I see two best friends taking refuge in a corner booth

A fireplace and a blanket, each offering the other warmth

There were raindrops in their eyes as they embraced and

I lost my breath as the girl with dark brown hair dissolved into absence

And the blonde one stared after, arms wrapped around herself

As a cold breeze made the tablecloth dance and cooled her food

More confusion serenading as imaginary people

More conflicted thoughts duelling in my head

More heartstrings stretching, screaming threats of snapping

My sky is a starless obsidian and

The last I heard of your weather

It was celestial sapphire skies and golden hour glows

You are climbing to mountaintop views and

I am swimming in soil

Sobbing for air

Suffocating in a coffin-less grave

My skin is cut and bleeding and

Yours is tattooed in new beginnings

We pulled on the lifeline between us

Desperate to gain ground as if it were a game of tug-of-war

When you cut it effortlessly, I ended up on my back in the dirt

Friction burnt hands and a fear of holding on

I weave words into the human-shaped hole you left in my life

When you deemed me not worth the fight

Together, you and I learnt how loneliness could transform into safety

Apart, we watched shelter turn to confinement.

I was a fireplace

You were a blanket

You burnt when you came too close to me and

I suffocated when I kept searching for comfort in your closeness

I'm shivering with numb fingertips and chilled skin

But despite it all, I hope you find warmth on your own

(I hope I do too.)

Sincerely,

The Haunted One.

❀❀❀❀❀

If you enjoyed this please check out more of my poems:

I also have a self published poetry book available to buy in paperback and eBook format here.

sad poetry
61

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Fiza Taj about a year ago

    love it!!

  • Joelle E🌙about a year ago

    I love this!

  • Heather N Kingabout a year ago

    Your poetry is truly beautiful and inspiring! The way you use words to convey emotion and paint vivid pictures is simply amazing. Keep writing and sharing your talent with the world, as your words have the power to touch many hearts and souls. Thank you for sharing your gift with us!

  • Kayla Lindleyabout a year ago

    Wow I love how you broke this up! Beautifully done!

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Very hunting poem for sure, it was like a story .🥰

  • Testabout a year ago

    I felt this to my core. Achingly beautiful. Hearted and subscribed—you have a new fan in me, Poppy!

  • Been there. Not done with that. Do we ever get to be finished, to sail away on a sea of forgetfulness &/or contentment that fills every empty space within us? Achingly beautiful. Congratulations on top story.

  • Caroline Janeabout a year ago

    Oh my. The heaviness in this haunting is crippling. Really well done. ❤

  • Congratulations on your Top Story❤️😉💯🎉

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    This was beautiful. I love the lines I was a blanket and you were a fireplace. So well done. You are incredibly talented

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Wow. This is incredible. Congrats on the top story

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    Well worthy of the recognition! Congratulations!

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Masterfully done! Brilliant work! BRAVO!

  • Ahamed Thousifabout a year ago

    Congratz...

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Ahh, Poppy, I always love the way you express yourself. Such beautiful melancholy. There were too many lines for me pick one out. Superb. Congratulations on Top Story :)

  • Congratulations on your Top Story

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Wow. Just wow. This is brilliant, so rich in emotion and depth. The visuals in my mind as I read this were full of color. Fantastic piece, Poppy! ❤️

  • Ahna Lewisabout a year ago

    Poppy, this was so beautifully expressed and so heart wrenching. Your power over words is captivating!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.