Poets logo

The Home Within

A poem about overcoming homelessness

By Tameka StrongPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

I used to have a home, a place where I belonged

A roof over my head, a bed to sleep on

I used to have a family, people who cared for me

A warm embrace, a friendly face, a sense of security

But then I lost it all, everything I had

A fire, a flood, a war, a debt, a twist of fate so bad

I found myself alone, on the streets with no one

A cardboard box, a dirty cloth, a life of pain and scorn

I felt like giving up, like there was no hope for me

A hunger, a thirst, a cold, a curse, a misery so deep

I felt like I was nothing, like I didn't matter at all

A shadow, a ghost, a stain, a host, a burden to them all

But then I found a home, not a place but a feeling

A hope in my heart, a faith in my soul, a healing in my being

I found a home within me, a place where I belong

A strength in my mind, a love in my spirit, a song in my voice

I still don't have a home, not a place but a dream

A goal in my sight, a plan in my head, a vision in my mind

I still don't have a family, not people but a community

A support in my network, a help in my friends, a kindness in strangers

But I know I'll make it through, because I have a home within me

A home that no one can take away, a home that gives me dignity

I know I'll make it through, because I have a home within me

A home that makes me who I am, a home that sets me free

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Tameka Strong

I love the power of words. I love how they can make people feel, how they can transport you to another world, and how they can change perspectives on things. I hope that my writing can make a difference in the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.