Poets logo

the hole

Sad poem about grief.

By Paul StewartPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
16
the hole
Photo by Ann on Unsplash

the hole

the whole of me

aches

as I ponder

the hole

the whole of me

grieves

as I ponder

the space

in photographs

at dinner tables

the silence

defeaning silence

replacing

the laughter

infectious laughter

the hole

the whole of me

aches

as I ponder

the hole

the whole of me

grieves

as I ponder

the life

your life

the hole

the whole of me

cries

cries in silence

defeaning silence

as I ponder

the hole

the whole you

left

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: Again thinking about grief.

performance poetrysad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
16

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Teresa Renton5 months ago

    Beautifully done Paul. I felt ‘the space in photographs’ so much. Well done for honourable mention 😊

  • This totally deserved an Honourable Mention! Well done.

  • Poppy 5 months ago

    Oh wow, this is masterfully written. The way it all builds up to that ending is so well done and evocative. If this is autobiographical I hope you’re alright

  • Excellent depiction of grief... sadly beautiful.

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    Very elegantly done.

  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    Nice words! Sometime I don’t know if it gets easier or harder.. would be good if they could be filled in. 🕳

  • The whole you left 😭😭😭😭 People come into our lives and make it whole. Then they leave and leave a hole 🥺

  • Shirley Belk5 months ago

    Beautiful truth of the missing from our lives

  • Incredibly evocative of the whole hole left in grief.

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    Truly heartbreaking💔

  • Heather Hubler5 months ago

    Aww man, is someone cutting those damn onions again?? I feel this as I know so many do...sending warm hugs, my friend.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.