Poets logo

The Hanged Man

An inverse poem

By Suze KayPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
22

Before I die

I must suffer

So I may better love

Being alive

//

Nothing brings me comfort

When I fight for what I want

But cannot claim it

I have learned my lesson

//

To solve the puzzle

I flip myself

Like a white flag in the wind

I am surrendering to mystery

Stream of Consciousnesssurreal poetry
22

About the Creator

Suze Kay

Pastry chef by day, insomniac writer by night.

Find here: stories that creep up on you, poems to stumble over, and the weird words I hold them in.

Or, let me catch you at www.suzekay.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor2 months ago

    Sk - The "HangMansLaugh" - The Last Laugh. Jk.in.l.a.

  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    I like the self-awareness and realisations of the speaker, almost as if they are trying to solve the puzzle of life in real-time. “ When I fight for what I want But cannot claim it” works really well as a middle for both readings. Nice😊

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    Suffering does make us closer to our mortality. The hanged man has lots of company. Great words.

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    It feels like reading up is the answer to reading down.

  • Mother Combs4 months ago

    💙

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    This is wonderful, and it works great both directions. Well done, as always.

  • So clever! My mind can’t even begin to imagine how you would tackle writing such a piece !

  • Kenny Penn4 months ago

    Excellent entry and cleverly done Suze. It’s so good both ways, but I really liked going from bottom up, “I have learned my lesson but cannot claim it”. Awesome stuff

  • Randy Baker4 months ago

    That first stanza got me. The rest did not disappoint, either. Strong writing, Suze.

  • This reads beautifully both directions & makes deeper & fuller the meaning we find in it. I love this, Suze.

  • John Cox4 months ago

    Learning to live with death, pain and the mystery of existence is not easy. This is a wonderful poem, Suze. I felt it in my bones.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.