Poets logo

The Gyroscope of Reason

A Poem

By Christopher FrancisPublished about a year ago 9 min read
Like

the river thinks it is a yo-yo

playing unders and overs with the bridge

and it doesn't worry me but

some people get tetchyitchybitchy

when they don't get

their milk and papers and daily bread

forgive us our father

when they have to go to work or play

by car truck plane boat and motor bike

when they have to return

they even develop stratagems

and symptoms of anxiety and insecurity

when in small craft

on flooded rivers or rapids or tempests

far out at sea

it's clear that these people

such people as these

have no spirit of adventure

and others find this is true yes it's true

they cannot relate

to pestiferous creepiecrawlies

and react with displeasure eeeeeeeeeek

to sandflies bugeyedmonstersmosquitoes

spiders fleas ticks stinkbugs beetles

slippery slithery slidey glidey

smooth and sinuous snakeshissss

and thesepeoplethesepeople

need to be reminded

that for every thing there is a season

turnturnturn turned on by life

the rhythm of life sweet charity

the rhythm of language

the music of the spheres

horsebellyhigh green green grasses

all seedyseedy podpodpoddy on top

and heavily polinated striated

straight from the

s l o w m o t i o n

flashback to previous ages

and early morning dew to be waded through

Tripoli Anzio and Gallipoli

dressed in awe and streaming hair

mysterium tremendum

flowering mind

and glisteninglyndebourne

marblebrainmarbledomebreasts

renaissance nipples

St Peters Pauls the Apostles

and the bells of St Clements

and perhaps tonight of all nights

that ever were and perhaps ever will be

we will meet and exchange glances

and perhaps if I met you

would say what would you say if you

were told I am

charmingsubtlehumorous

though rather sadly possessing a capacity

for creating exceptional discord

and my major fault is an inability

to put plans into actions

second thoughts indecision

and lack of confidence

all of which conspires to rob me

of energy and vitality

and not only but also

I am a compromiser

with a dangerous tendency

to retire into fantasy surely not

however not to worry

for discipline can put hard edges

on the clouds

and thereby help me to display

prodigious talents

so that I can be an

artist

athlete

performer of any kind

or salesman

and I would reply

we don't understand what happens

when we opt for the obvious

most of the time I can't be bothered

going through the motions

the hassle of trying to convince anyone

that I tread the edge without

very much courage

and

even when I do

there is no one there

to tell these stories to

apocryphal or otherwise

only sometimes

do I focus my attention

diminish the pretension

long enough to lock in home in

like a heatseeking houndhunting

phantom jet of your heart

and then it happens

starting out to be

serious sensitive soulsearching

and even sentimental

I can't think of what has happened

but it seems a little late to do anything

about it now

and perhaps if I met you I would

interject sevens like me

it's all done with numerology

do you believe in magic intuition

can be solitary

active artistic or inarticulate

goodlooking and attractive

though often shy

teeheehee

and sexually inhibited

still they get things done

are very active and

don't mess around Ray Charles

like travel and make good sailors

although they can also turn out to be

musicians

poets

painters

mystics

or clergymen

if they go into business they usually end up

knew he was feigning boxer feinting fencer

coz his face ah went tabula rasa

cept cut with a raza

was laughing twitching electric

strung like wire from pole to pole

with no release

coiled and couldn't move

blue from shoulder to shoulder

catherine wheel pulse thru veins

now tight head downwards

and split with feelings without a home

dervish in the hurricane hooked

and squirming on the line

breasts quivered voices

strangestrangled laughter

and mixmastered groans

thrust his hands into my edenribs

head went back hair

turned like fairy floss on my bassline

felt him getting hard

felt me getting wet

felt him sliding over my legs

brushing my crotch my luscious crop

went for his neck

and I spread my legs bit into his throat

and all the vampires hissed

in one hammerhorrorhardon delight

felt him in my throat in me in my world

felt him pushing against me

past my gates and into my keep

bit the shoulder

sucked the skin

till it rose togapurple

remembered those times

when I had to wear a scarf

bestraddling him

hand on my breast

pinching a nipple nipple hurt a little

I was tight and tingling with light

scratched his arse

and wanted him in mine

gouged out a track along his back

wide as the Gobi Desert

stretched like a canvass of skin

of sex

on this cross of limbs

felt him evacuate me

clear me clean me drench me again

in my temple in my hair in my blue heaven

felt so detached from time to time

awoke and he was inside

moving both nearly awake

moaning gentle breathing eyes shut

everything so distant drifting in space

like Euclid's ghost

some thinkshadowminds drifting in time

trapped

felt so trapped unable to sense

what we were doing

bite biter bit him in the neck

hands stroked my hair

remember a time before we spoke in riddles

when we did not know each other

when we were separate

and yet related

through the complex of life

and the configuration of space

once primordial

we are little more than refinements of this process

now the evolution of man is a chance association

of chemistry predicted

in the passage of light from the stars

the excavation of the mind reveals

coelacanths and other forms

creatures now despised

and thought to be extinct but

cautiously reaching out to us

over the chasm of recognition

we are children once again

staring at them

with a degree of expectation

we haven't felt for a very long time

then as we turn to go their voices rise in unison

to remind us that they will not be forgotten

and the traces of this meeting are there to be seen

in today's actions and tomorrow's ideas

the axe blade suspended above his head

unknowing of its intention

an unconscious urge to wake from his sleep

caused him to stir in a restless convulsion

metal vibrated the air

like a dikesteamshovel

and the air was sliced thinly

atmosphere split in twain

as it carved its way

into the slumbering body

cleaving open his brain

left and right

hemispheres

intuition and logic

north and south

of the equator

both poles and tropics

separating fleshbonehairskin

as it splintered the skull

its path continued unabated

it halted briefly

with a thudthudthud

embedded in the soaking mattress

soaking bile

blood

colic

humour

mucous

gastric juices

each orifice evacuating

exiled to the mittwelt

from its home the cavity the cave

the dark swollen vagina

the axe fell again

proving the keenness of the edge

the fact that not only did it cut

through shoeschickenlegsfrozenpeas

the cap of his head spun

a frisbee

a gyroscope of reason in the gravity of passion

hit the cat

meeoooww

bottom half disguised runny egg cup

yolk exposed half eaten

third and more powerful blow

split his chest

open sternum and collar bone.

tremulous and circumspect

what lies hidden in this life in these moments

when doubt rises

white crusted in your throat

gagging crown on the head of passion

removing the surety

so carefully invested

precluding chaos

excluding superfluity

paring down relationships

to their skeletal selves

but terror invades our homes

with roulette wheel logic

genuflecting before the hour of our death

supplicating before the court of times known well

the knock on the door betokens a caller not invited

the salesman for impetuosity spontaneity and murder

the acrobat and diver know what the suicide recalls too late

the destiny of Icarus and the dead hand of weight

the lover and the killer possess what the gods themselves do crave

the power of redemption and the temptation not to save

everchanging

patterns of the sea upon the sand

no thought is safe

no emotion still

no person can defy the movement

patterns

everchanging

growing colder bolder older

rotting and devouring being having motioning

patterns

making fools of lovers' rules

gently pushing us away

constant motion potions solutions diluted concoctions

nothing survives a purgatory of indifference

so let me crash against the cliffs of your soul

ground myself on your shores

follow the routes

caravans horses buses trains cars and rockets

for these will be my guides

and what do I see I see with my little eye

something screaming across the sky

I see with my little eye

strangestrange people with strangestrange lives

straining at the reins that hold their lives

I see with a vision so clear

the possibility of love is always near

waiting in the alcove of time

I hear a rumbling in the catacombs of my heart

and the river thinks it is a yo-yo

playing overs and unders with the bridge

vintage
Like

About the Creator

Christopher Francis

I began writing as a child, continued as an adult and worked briefly as a professional. Literature and music were and are my passions. Then life got in the way. Now, at 66 they have returned and I am giving them my full attention. Ta da.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.