Poets logo

The Growth of my Force

Personal Development

By Kylecovey SmithPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
The Growth of my Force
Photo by Sara Erasmo on Unsplash

Kylecovey Smith

4-22-21

The Growth of My Force

Growing up is something that I always cherished because that is

the first step of manhood and my own business.

It was blazing and sunny on the 4th of May,

It was 16th birthday but also Star Wars Day.

My mother gave me a present that showed her love to me.

I closed my eyes and when I opened them it couldn’t be true.

What I saw in front of me was a metallic silver Camry with lush cotton seats that were new.

My mom said “Happy Birthday and “May the 4th be with you”

Partying was over and next was the DMV to take my drivers test.

Having to go through a whole year needing someone 21

or older to ride with me was a burden that was finally lifted off my shoulders.

I passed, and cherished my new Camry dubbed “Flash”.

With the power of the force, speed of a star fighter and voice operation of a droid

I was the captain of this silver ship, and I was overjoyed.

The time of having to beg my sister to come with me to places was done.

I am thankful for Flash as that was a touching gift from mother to son.

Overall, being old enough to drive and having my own car were huge moments in my life

that I will honor and cherish forever with the Star Wars song on a well played fife.

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Kylecovey Smith

Historian, Linguist, Author (Voyages of the 997 & The Method Mission), YouTuber/TikToker (Master Mojo) and now Vocal writer enjoy and critique my writing as please.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.