Poets logo

The Gnarled Old Tree...

by: SweetAngelsHalo

By Karen SheltonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
My dear sweet Gnarled Old Tree, St. Simons Island, Georgia

GNARLED OLD TREE...

by SweetAngelsHalo

A lone tree stands in the distance

his thick arms reaching to the sky

strong inside but getting old

I walk along the path

and rest my head in his lap

gently I feel his branches

bend to take ahold me

picking me up

I can still feel his heart

beating strong within his old, gnarled wood

I curl up in his branches

as he says to my heart

rest now sweet child

I'm here and will watch over you

a deep rumbling vibration fills my head

as he begins to sing songs of old

long forgotten by man

but remembered of the earth

I close my eyes, content

safe for the first time ever

he shades me from the dying sun

and as the cool of the night comes on

he keeps me warm

the moon rises full

and he lifts his eyes to sing

the praises of the night

for another day lived

and a young girls love

I stay with him for days

and he teaches me the stories of old

and passes along wisdom

no one seems to care about anymore

each day we talk

and each night he holds me tight

teaching his songs to me

watching over me

swaying gently in the breeze

we watch the passage of time together

seasons change

long nights and days

no one but us two

I stroke his bark

as I would my lovers face

and he holds me tight

like a lover should

we share a passion

greater than has ever been before

for it goes beyond the flesh

to the depths of the earth

the depths of the soul

we see each others beauty

I no longer see the gnarled wood

but see strength and wisdom

he sees not a shy hurt little girl

but a lithe green-eyed beauty

matured beyond her years

but still innocent as a child

both of us open to the world

open to each other

no greater love has there or will there ever be

than between me and my Gnarled Old Tree...

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Karen Shelton

I'm a writing nut and enjoy exploring all genres of writing. Poetry, short stories, fantasy, adventure, romantic, erotica and role playing games, etc. I love to push the boundaries and am open and honest trying to stimulate the reader.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.