Poets logo

The Girl in the Mirror

Learning to love myself

By Shelby LarsenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Photo by Людмила Ульянова

Vanity.

Such a strange concept.

Not until I realized

how many times

I checked

makeup

hair

in the mirror

did I grasp…

I am vain.

I adore my reflection.

I see that girl

in the mirror.

Beautiful.

Sexy.

Gorgeous.

A goddess.

Compared to the girl

in the mirror

many years ago

who felt fat,

ugly,

nerdy,

she is flawless.

Avoiding

glass,

water,

anything reflective.

Staring

floor,

bed,

green walls,

owl posters,

anywhere but me:

in the mirrors,

in the pictures.

Thank you,

poor self-esteem,

self-hatred,

self-pity.

Blame society.

Glamour magazine.

8th grade boys.

Unrealistic,

unattainable,

body image standards.

Today…

that girl I see

perfectly imperfect.

Without approval

society,

media,

boys.

That girl

in the mirror?

I love her.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Shelby Larsen

Warning: I love messing with your favorite fairy tales.

I've loved writing most of my life. In college I made it my passion, but once I reached the "real" world, I stopped. I'm here to find my creativity and get back to my passion.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Fantastic and heartfelt!!!💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.