Poets logo

The Ghost of Your Past

A poem of apology

By Lee St. EvansPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
2
AI Generated Art

There’s a secret in the shadows

There’s writing on the walls

Words etched in blood

Tapestries shredded

by the claws of a beast

That can’t be contained

Does it help the pain

To scream into the void

And hear your screams echoed back

Your agony multiplied a thousand times over

Relieving you of your hurt

By inflicting it onto others

Does it help that every day

I think of you

I hold on to hope

That you’ve moved on

Forgotten me

What I did

What I’ve done

While I stand here

The tendrils of the past still gripping me tightly

Seeing your faces every night

Not a day goes by where I don’t think of you

I wish I had the words

To tell you I’m sorry

That hurt people, hurt people

That what was done in a manic episode

Wasn’t really me

That the person I was in the shadows

Is not the person I am now

I don’t know how to tell you

That I hold on to my regrets

As close as a mother

Clings to her newborn babe

I don’t know how to tell you

That the shame I feel is enough

That even the demons in the rectory

Would show me pity

If I came to the confessional

And that even after decades past

I feel it breathe in me

Freshly afraid

And I have to wonder

Am I still the monster in your closet?

A cautionary tale

Turned legend

Or have you moved on

And made a world for yourself

Unhindered by me

The ghost of your past

Mental Healthsurreal poetrysad poetryheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Lee St. Evans

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.