Poets logo

Dancing with Death

A poem on choosing life

By Lee St. EvansPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
2
Dancing with Death
Photo by Ahmed Adly on Unsplash

I did not live until death held me close

Loved me like a nightingale

Leaving me with longing

And the taste of his misery

upon my lips.

As I try to comfort him

I find myself pulled closer

In his arms again

I long to feel him

To hold him

Close to my heart

It’s not to be

There will come a day

When I will feel his kiss

When I will let him lead me away

But it is not today

My dreams of joining him

A self inflicted homicide

Are put at bay

As he watches me from afar

Creeping closer

I will join him eventually

I will let him love me

He will take me away

In the chariot i dream

But for now

I will stay and watch

As the world continues to turn

I do not fear the reaper

I fear the lady life

For death

Dying

Is far easier

Than continuing the day to day

And yet I keep him at bay

With dreams of empathy

Dreams of a world

That cares

Knowing that eventually

I will dance with death again

On his terms

Not mine

And As he cries for me

Each time I draw near

I know this tango

Will come to an end

Someday I will see him

I will smile and wave

And he will hold me close once more

But that day

Is not today

Today I choose life

sad poetrysurreal poetryinspirationalCONTENT WARNING
2

About the Creator

Lee St. Evans

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    This was so dark, intense and emotional but that ending was powerful!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.