Poets logo

The game you played

A Poem

By Deth AngelPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Like
The game you played
Photo by Yuvraj Singh on Unsplash

Because I thought that love existed, I fell so hard. I fell harder than I ever thought possible. And you… you led me down that path, you guided me into the fall. All with a smile on your face.. you knew exactly what you were doing. The whole time, my love grew and grew, and never once did you let me know, that it was nothing more than a game to you. How far can you take this? How stupid can you make me look? When will I catch on and the other shoe will drop? Did you ever stop to think that my life was wrapped up in this lie? Did you even care about me, even a little? Every day, we spent together, for what I believed was building our future. Now I know and I don’t know what to do with myself. I’m lost, I’m hurt, I am dying inside. It’s more than just my wounded self-esteem or some injured pride… Years of my life wasted on a life that was fake, all because you couldn’t just be honest and let me walk away. Years ago you had the chance to leave without an issue, but you insisted that this is what you wanted. Now I need to walk away from this, to light the match and watch it all burn away. What’s done is done and we can’t go back. I’m sorry but I can’t say I'm going to miss you…

sad poetryheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Deth Angel

I'm just a Goth girl living in a Barbie world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.