Poets logo

The Game Is Mine

"No cap" like the cool kids been saying these days

By savage writerPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Once upon a time, there was a boy in the city

who had dreams of doing something positive

Amid the journey, roadblocks made themselves known

Dad passed on, world left him to fend all on his own

Both families were cursed, used their authority to dilute his priorities

Someone telling him

What they want him to be

What they want him to do

How THEY can benefit from work dat’ they’ve never done

Once school began, administrators had no problem

with turning me into an educated prisoner

Classroom, the cell

Teacher, well the teacher

Security guards, the C.O.’s

Principals, the wardens

Classmates, inmates

Twelve years a student, mirandums in the hood

N***as were getting sentenced 400 years in the making

Once I finished doing my time, I unleashed my truest potential

To tell you the truth, I had these powers in me all along

Da’ courage to become of the city’s greatest orators

I was timin’ the perfect moment

When I was laughed away from the lunch table

I was counting the seconds leading up to my breakthrough

I’ve broken thru, shit has upset you

The game is mine, no cap

Don’t put the safety on it

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

savage writer

http://bit.ly/TRPY

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.