Poets logo

The four walls

Captive in the Confines: A Prison of Self

By Uphill MindPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
1
The four walls
Photo by Edge2Edge Media on Unsplash

Trapped, enclosed

In bondage

With four walls

And no door

But a slight window for air

No bigger than a peephole

No one, No noise

As quiet as a graveyard

I yearn for death

But death comes nowhere near

As time passes

My heart races

The walls close in

And I faint with dread

I awake to find

It was only a dream

I am still alive and healthy

In the dreaded four walls

Of my own making

Forever bound

In a place

Where escape is impossible

The four walls of my life

Don't forget to Like❤️ & Subscribe for more like this!

performance poetrysurreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryinspirationalfact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Uphill Mind

Get motivated and inspired through mindful words and stories of others. Be enlightened with me!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.