Poets logo

The Flavor of your Affections

You drank for you. I drank for you.

By Hayley MattoPublished 2 months ago 2 min read
9
The Flavor of your Affections
Photo by Rachael 🫧 on Unsplash

You drank to numb yourself out from your own mind & thoughts.

I drank for all the ones you shared.

The ones that slipped through your lousy, loosened filter. The ones the drink decided were fine to be set free. Or maybe it's because of the drink, the filter could no longer prevent the thoughts from pouring out.

I don't know which is worse.

You drank to connect to some inner turmoil that normally you were too anxious to tap into, work through.

I drank to connect with you.

To cheers, and feel like every moment with you was one to celebrate, even when they weren't. To be on your level, with you or at least make it feel like I was. Make you believe I was.

You drank to "get the creative juices flowing." Allow the rhyme or reason to free flow in verse, messy handwriting, slurred song. Fingers so numb they didn't register the blood dripping from them after hours of plucking rusty metal strings.

I drank to shed my anxiety on what those secret words may mean. The ones spilling from your lips on nights like these. Afraid of the pain you maybe in, hiding it in the sobering rays of daylight. Guilt pooling into me adding up by the shot glass full of all the signals I may have missed without the truth elixir in my blood.

You drank to remember sex was more then an activity for your hand, phone and shower.

I drank just incase you decided I was what you wanted tonight.

The flavor of your affections varying on the drink you fueled your soul with that evening.

Vodka = taken from my cabinet, desperate to dissipate from reality, moody.

Tequila = Oh no, dangerous, sad, a danger to yourself, I needed to babysit.

Whiskey = loving, creative, talkative, I will be what you crave around 3AM.

*Special Shoutout* to the one we both banned, Malt Liquor, 40's, Cobra's, Mickey's, the cheap shit that goes by many names- made you Mean. Cruel. The darks of your eyes absorbed the man I could connect to under any other guise.

Wine, our shared lover. The mistress we always were happy to fall entangled into a ménage à trois with, she brought out our honesty and lust. The real romantics we felt truly connected us.

You drank because you couldn't handle the world you built for yourself.

What I needed to learn is, you would drink regardless of your love for me. Regardless if your world had me in it or not.

You drank for you. I drank for you.

I think Love, that it never was really about the drinks, but instead it was just about what you were running away from, and what I was desperate to understand within you. You chose your catalyst and I followed suit, as a lover desperate to be loved by a man more distracted by the demons in his glass then the girl guarding his heart.

ProseStream of Consciousnesssad poetryheartbreak
9

About the Creator

Hayley Matto

Just a 26yr old processing the 🌎 one sh*tty poem at a time. Need human connection or just killing time?

Read some thoughts by She.

-P.S. that’s me.

Insta: @thoughts.by.she 🖤 Thanks for tuning in! Much Love.

Shout Out to ViM 🤍 Love 'em.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer2 months ago

    Bloody hell ❤ Scrolled up to double check whether there was a Top Story banner at the top. There isn't; a scandal.

  • sleepy drafts2 months ago

    This is so raw and beautiful. "...the filter could no longer prevent the thoughts from pouring out. I don't know which is worse." This was so poignant and powerful. Gorgeous work. 💗

  • This was brilliant. There are so many lines I could pull but my favorite part was the Vodka, Tequila, Whiskey = so good

  • Caroline Craven2 months ago

    This was so good Hayley. Alcohol can only numb the pain for so long. I loved this line: To cheers, and feel like every moment with you was one to celebrate, even when they weren't. Excellent writing.

  • River Joy2 months ago

    This was intense, the way we twist around people who are not good for us is such an interesting thing about humans. Really exquisitely done.

  • "as a lover desperate to be loved by a man more distracted by the demons in his glass then the girl guarding his heart." This hit me so hard because it was so relatable! So sorry you experienced this 🥺 Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Alcohol is a social disinhibitor, great words

  • Celia in Underland2 months ago

    Beautifully written, not sure I can believe that drink makes anyone say things they don't want to say, just gives them an excuse to say what they want with no consequences and a handy excuse.

  • Test2 months ago

    Thank you for sharing such a raw and introspective piece.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.