Poets logo

The First Spark

We both still know, "This is something to remark."

By Bohemian BirdPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
The First Spark
Photo by Ian Schneider on Unsplash

We were young

And thought we were such fun

To be honest, we still are

But that first day, I saw you from afar

In our high school lot, but not alone

I asked, “Who is that?” in an interested tone

He cackled, “A chauvinistic ass.”

I sighed, “Oh.” and thought Pass

You glanced at me

And I stared at you

You looked away

And I turned from you

But that day we both felt a spark

Knowing it was something to remark



Life is tough and we are older now

Heavily medicated

But not sedated

Enough to still be fun

Yet aware that we are going numb

You frequent the taproom

And I serve you to start our love in bloom

One day you say to me

“Your life could play out so differently.”

And that made my heart beat infrequently

Because I felt it was true

And that’s when my soul knew



Now here we are

Close together and not so far

Everything we ever wished

Sealed with a late night kiss

And never feeling nearly as blue

Because life is just brighter now that I have you

By Mayur Gala on Unsplash

love poems

About the Creator

Bohemian Bird

I create here and there.. 2D and 3D forms.. Ultimately, I am striving to enjoy my existence here in this garden of earthly delights & hopefully I can inject some satisfaction for others as well.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Bohemian BirdWritten by Bohemian Bird

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.