Poets logo

The First Meeting

Would it were given to us to explain

By Katherine D. GrahamPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Let me begin. My eldest and I had braved bad stormy weather. We’d gone for a work-out, to bond us together. Afterwards, we visited the café, once my family home where I learned of public relations, and how to work to the bone.

I’ll take but a moment to continue this drift. My youngest had just resumed her shift after attending school in the Emerald Isle perfecting the leprechauns trade with style.

She learned to cobble, to repair tears and holes and mend stressed heel-spurred worn-out souls who searched for the pot of gold at rainbows end, instead of treasuring the journey and a precious friend.

My eldest and I sat watched my youngest work her charm, taking orders from the table beside us, in the reach of an arm. We stuck a conversation. The weather had caused a travel delay. The couple's guest from the continent, had to extend his stay.

Introducing their visitor as a ‘man of some distinction’ they asked him to discuss how he followed instinction to determine how the universe began. He was a Renaissance man. He carried a charge. His light radiated. Confusions he cleared. He explained that in vacuums, the law of the lever, negative energy steered. As potential is realized, it pulls a train on a track, past telephone poles. Then, he defined time, beyond clickety -clack.

The others drifted away as we continued conversation about how Platonic forms arise in creation. We created a bubble, from which all else was removed, then he spoke on a topic to which he felt behooved.

He was regaining his life after the recent death of his wife. He had given her care, now his soul, was stark bare. In the depth of his sorrow he had written poems in grief. From his memory he recreated them beyond my belief.

With no question or doubt, he was willing to shout he had known love. It was a mysterious, divine gift from above. Extinguished, his love’s passion that once held one thousand flames, left a cold reality that burned, leaving blistering wounds inflamed.

His poems held flashes of images that released many spirits. Each welded a bolt in my soul, strong as custom-made rivets. They justified my fibre and made me flush, so normal, that blocks in my heart opened and formed a new portal.

I remember that moment when time stopped. I declare. I felt an attachment. I was suddenly aware that each heartbeat held all possibility. We were sharing a slice of eternity. Time stood still, no loss or gain. In the snowy blizzard, everything was right as rain.

Oh, what light from his eyes, I can still behold! I saw that flash as I crossed the threshold, when that small spark ignited a vital component that set fire to my soul, that was formerly dormant. That was key to unlocking the path to a vague dream. Serendipity would let us happiness glean.

Perhaps is was a simple chance of timing or conjured by the fates, or our knowledge aligning. It matters not the cause. An ever-fixed mark was set. Our compasses aligned when we first met. Would it were given to us to explain, abstractions path, where fate's plan is lain.

We are frail creatures, subject to fate, that takes a love and a new does create. Two strangers saw something in a single glance. While speaking without pomp and circumstance. These two souls, by a random greeting, found love, without from one step retreating.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Katherine D. Graham

My stories are intended to teach facts, supported by science as we know it. Science often reflects myths. Both can help survival in an ever-changing world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.