Poets logo

The Fiend

Dratted addictive molecule....

By Meredith HarmonPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
6
Ahhhh, much better! Banana for scale. Slurp, slurp, sluuuuuuuurp....

We cannot be out of coffee, I have deadlines to meet!

Have you checked the cabinet? There's air inside my mug!

Get me caffeine, don't care what kind, not bitter, nor too sweet.

******

Don't stand there staring stupidly! Hustle before I yeet

Your laptop out the window for being far too smug.

We cannot be out of coffee, I have deadlines to meet!

******

Don't care what doom the weather holds, be it rain, hail, snow, or sleet,

Get in the car and procure for me the best inspiring drug,

Get me caffeine, don't care what kind, not bitter, nor too sweet.

******

Cola? Fine. Chai? Okay. Black tea's like smoky peat,

But a triple shot espresso is like a warming hug,

We cannot be out of coffee, I have deadlines to meet!

******

Get me the darkest chocolate you'd ever want to meet

If they're out of mocha macchiatos yet again – ugh!

Get me caffeine, don't care what kind, not bitter, nor too sweet.

******

You got it?? You're not joking now? For real? YESSS! Such a feat!

I'll start on work as soon as I've demolished my elixir chug,

We cannot be out of coffee, I have deadlines to meet!

Get me caffeine, don't care what kind, not bitter, nor too sweet.

humor
6

About the Creator

Meredith Harmon

Mix equal parts anthropologist, biologist, geologist, and artisan, stir and heat in the heart of Pennsylvania Dutch country, sprinkle with a heaping pile of odd life experiences. Half-baked.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock5 months ago

    What possible villanelle or villanelless would dare abscond with such necessities!!!!? (Yes, it took me a long time to understand that villanelles have nothing to do with villains when Mike first introduced the form to me.)

  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    Hahah. Excellent work Meredith! ☕️ 👏

  • Andrei Z.5 months ago

    Banana for scale, huh? Ugh, drinking small innocent molecules 😶

  • TheSpinstress5 months ago

    A hilarious take on the Villanelle. :D

  • K. Kocheryan5 months ago

    "Hustle before I yeet Your laptop--" Hilarious line lol. Nice Job.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.