Poets logo

The Evanai

If I Fade from My Own, Will I Fade from Yours?

By Randy Wayne Jellison-KnockPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
14
The Evanai
Photo by Gabriel on Unsplash

Where am I?

From whence have I come

& whither do I go?

I cannot answer these,

do you know?

Are not these the essence,

defining, “Who I am?”

Fie! A pox upon me!

When there is neither anchor

of past or present

nor lure of hope for what might be

what does that leave?

~ΑΩ~

Why should I ask thee

when I can neither see myself

nor hear my own thoughts?

Flitting among the moments,

touched not by what has been, is, or will be,

untouched by any other,

unheard, unseen.

Is there even thought of any of this I ask

when I am fade, even from my own self

whatever that might be?

or not be?

~ΑΩ~

René has long said,

Cogito, ergo sum,”

But what if the thoughts are not mine

without reason or rhyme

or tethered to any sense?

Who am I

when even to myself

I evanesce?

social commentarysurreal poetrysad poetryheartbreak
14

About the Creator

Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock

Retired Ordained Elder in The United Methodist Church having served for a total of 30 years in Missouri, South Dakota & Kansas.

Born in Watertown, SD on 9/26/1959. Married to Sandra Jellison-Knock on 1/24/1986. One son, Keenan, deceased.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer7 months ago

    Evanesce - what a terribly wonderful word! A beautiful poem, that I don't deserve!

  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    Oh, now I want to holler and cry. What an absolutely gorgeous poem. Who are you? You are Randy Wayne J Rock.......er Knock. Too beautiful, I say. Lovely word evanesce.

  • Gina C.8 months ago

    Oh, how thought-provoking this is! And, so, so beautifully done. ❤️ I really love the word "evanesce" 😍 Gorgeous job, Randy! 🤗 I've been on a bit of a break from Vocal but I'll be back soon to read more of your amazing words! 🤗

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Evanesce! Your favorite word. Wow, is all I have to say Randy! Absolutely stunning verse, and I find myself needing to back to experience it again and more deeply. “Why should I ask thee when I can neither see myself nor hear my own thoughts? Flitting among the moments, touched not by what has been, is, or will be, untouched by any other, unheard, unseen.” I have felt those questions you raise in this poem so many times before, feeling that if I don’t even know myself, how can I hope to grow? That knowledge is foundational, and when it feels like it is gone, hopelessness sets in, and then the feeling that I’m not really here at all becomes the truth. I so relate to the idea of being separated from others contributing to this feeling of evanescence. Sometimes it seems like without external proof that we exist, the truth is that we don’t. How powerful are others in giving us life and purpose. Amazingly deep poem. I absolutely love it and congratulate you on the rhythm and rhyme present in it, for they only make the message and questions all the more potent. 👏👏👏❤️That last stanza is my absolute favorite here.

  • Mariann Carroll8 months ago

    Wow, 👏💗You out did yourself on this poetry. Very well written. I love how it just flow ….and captivate

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    I need to do some research on this one Randy! I’ll be back! 😁

  • This was so deep and relatable! It hit me so hard! Very emotional poem! Hope you're doing okay!

  • ARC8 months ago

    Love the ethereal nature of this, Randy 💙 Beautiful.

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    This is really thought-provoking. "But what if the thoughts are not mine without reason or rhyme or tethered to any sense?" Hmmm.

  • Judey Kalchik 8 months ago

    This reminds me of the cries of Job

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.