Poets logo

The disgruntled goldfish

Put me in a dish.

By Novel AllenPublished about a year ago 1 min read
5
Q

For weeks my colorful goldfish swam

it's reddish, orangish, goldish head so calm

neck, body and fins flitting here and there

painted on eyes appearing to see naught anywhere

around and around in her little transparent bowl

caring not for the outside world slowly passing, so cold

it swam in utter contentment

Or so I thought with wry amusement

This morning, however, I awoke

to find, almost giving myself a stroke

to my utter and total consternation

that I was the one under observation

I was trapped in the watery depth

imprisoned in the stillness, out of breath

swimming around and around

within a transparent goldfish bowl

Seated at the table, fins enfold

a shrewd look of satisfaction upon its face

was the darned goldfish out of place

Lips pursed, head held high in disdain and pride

it ogled me, eyes unmoving, daring me. Oh I cried tears

I fear though, tears are not seen within a bowl of liquid

oh! such a waste of bodily tears intrepid

We constantly remove life from its natural environs

then be surprised when the day finally arrives for retribution

when they say enough is enough

And we finally, fully in sense and touch

receive a taste of our own medicine!

Times two! Tis true!

.....................................................................................................................

surreal poetryperformance poetry
5

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • St. Tiffyabout a year ago

    I really liked this one a lot, I enjoyed the sense of irony throughout.

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    This one pulled me in right away with the title and photo and did not disappoint!! 😱😁👏👏👏

  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    Indeed, but I like a good open space type zoo. I’ve had goldfish in the past but I alway felt sorry for them as it was a tiny bowl and not a huge aquarium. 🙁

  • Nice piece 💖✨

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.