Poets logo

The Desire of Fire

Although we have many desires not all are worth the pain of fire.

By Maria DPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Desire of Fire
Photo by Riley sporle on Unsplash

The wood is on fire

like my body for my desire,

as it burns it keeps me warm.

Eventually it will slow down

before being blown by the wind

it kept me warm in the moment

with its fire and its bliss.

It only lasted a second so I pour more gasoline

the toxic smell is now getting over me

entering my body doing its work.

The sudden explosion of flames hit my face

it felt as if a thousand knives stabbed me in the exact same place.

The pain is the worst I've had to endure.

Was it worth it lighting the fire

only so you don't feel so cold and hollow?

Not every piece of wood is meant to burn and sustain fire!

oh look, more wood ahead of me

will it cause the same amount of pain?

will it blow out as soon as I light it?

A kiss and devour right before he says goodbye,

i thought it was something more,

I was wrong.

It what it was and now he left me here to cry.

Now this wood I see in front of me,

this wood is pure and natural.

The right one that will keep on

no gasoline and toxic waste required.

The right man will not burn you

he will keep his spark til he can no more.

He has kept me warm for as long as I can remember

in my heart he'll forever be

the love and the wood that was right for me.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Maria D

Just someone who enjoys to write, and explore her mind. I love to read, especially when they turn into movies in my head.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.