Poets logo

The Darkness That Lurks Behind The Smile

The Darkness That Lurks Behind The Smile | Poem Series

By CyCyPublished about a year ago 3 min read
2
Cover/Logo is designed by me by using Canva Pro

The Darkness That Lurks Behind The Smile

Disclaimer: This poem is dark and it deals with mental health issues. It can be triggering to some. Reader discretion is advised.

I wanted to die.

It was never a lie.

Every night when the moon

was up in the sky,

I prayed that I’ll never wake

to see another day.

I wanted to die.

Although I would lie

to myself every day

that my life was more profound

and my existence was significant.

I wanted to die.

I have tried.

More than I was willing to admit.

I hid behind smiles

because I couldn’t bear the thought

to be the reason for someone’s

agony and pain.

I wanted to die.

I wish I didn’t.

But sometimes the darkness gets too much

even for me to handle.

I struggle to stay present.

I keep lying.

I keep trying.

Just so people won’t stop smiling.

So they won’t feel my suffering.

I want to die.

But maybe I truly don’t.

Because if I’m gone

then I will no longer

see them smile.

I want to die.

This is the darkness that lurks

behind the smiles.

I wish it’s a lie.

I guess I’ll just have to try.

---

Hi, I'm CyCy!

Thank you for reading. I truly appreciate it!

This is the sixth poem from The Darkness That Lurks Behind the Smiles - Six Part Poem Series. I also want to note that I am okay and have a support system.

These poems reflect parts of my life and the struggles with my mental health. I find that writing these poems is cathartic and therapeutic. It allows me to voice out and address the darkness that lurks inside my mind.

Thank you for being a part of my journey and life. I truly appreciate you all.

If you also ever feel that the darkness is too much, please remember that you are never truly alone, okay? Please do not be afraid to ask for help. Asking for help does not make you weak or any less. YOU are WONDERFUL. Please remember that.

1. I Am Not Okay

I Am Not Okay

2. The Monster In Your Head

The Monster In Your Head

3. The Other Side

The Other Side

4. Don't Talk To Strangers

Don't Talk To Strangers

5. As Long As They’re Happy

As Long As They're Happy

6. The Darkness That Lurks Behind The Smile

The Darkness That Lurks Behind The Smile

Disclosure: Please note that if you choose to click on a link and make a purchase, I may receive cash compensation. Rest assured that I only recommend products that I personally find helpful or enjoyable, and that I believe may also be of interest to you. Click here to find out who I am currently partnered with and affiliated with.

Discover high-performance productivity and security tools with Microsoft 365. Follow the link to learn more.

Anyway, other than me fangirling about anime, books, comics, and shows/movies that I watch, I usually create darker content, whether art, video shorts, or stories. If this is something that you also enjoy, let's be friends :)

Speaking of anime, have you seen Jujutsu Kaisen yet?

Jujutsu Kaisen

If not, you're missing out! Click here to see my quick review of it.

Jujutsu Kaisen Sukuna Deluxe Pop! Vinyl Figure, Not Mint

If you are also looking to build a website for your blogs, hobbies, store, or for anything at all, I recommend Bluehost.

Check out Bluehost here

If you would like to learn more, read my article: Why Bluehost is Perfect for Novice Website Builders.

Why Bluehost is Perfect for Novice Website Builders

P.S. I would truly appreciate your support whether it would be subscribing, sharing this page with your friends, and/or leaving me a tip. If you also want updates on my latest releases, sign up for my newsletter here.

P.P.S. I also offer Beta-Reader services if you are a writer/author and need a Beta-Reader. Check out my Fiverr link here.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

CyCy

The Chaotic Creator | Writer, Poet, & Blogger | Multi-Genre | Beta-Reader

Fiverr: @cyrls_corner

Twitter: @cyrls_corner

Website: cyrlscorner.com

Sign up for my Newsletter & get updates on my latest posts by clicking here

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.