Poets logo

The Cycle

Trapped

By C. D. GuzmanPublished 7 days ago 1 min read
Like

I scare myself by the man I am becoming. A shadowed reflection, dark and numbing. Mostly scared that once I am free, I won’t find the path to who I want to be.

I’ve seen countless homies walk out the gate, only to return within months, sealed by fate. Their dreams, like mine, of a better life. Crushed by the weight of endless strife.

Is this my destiny, a revolving door, an endless battle on a distant shore? Happiness and freedom, elusive and rare. Slipping through fingers like smoke in the air.

Will I be like those I call friend, I call brother, trapped in a cycle, one after another? I fear the answer that lingers near, a life of sorrow, bound by fear.

In this cell, my heart breaks anew, haunted by thoughts of a future askew. Dreams I once held, now fading fast, a life of hope, shadows of the past.

I scare myself with the man I might become, a hollow echo, a beating drum. Will I be free, yet never truly at peace? A soul adrift, longing for release?

I see their faces, those who’ve come and gone. Their spirits broken, their hope withdrawn. Will I be another statistic in this cruel game? A name forgotten, lost to shame?

I yearn for a chance, a glimmer of light. To break these chains, to win this fight. But fear grips tight, a merciless foe, In this revolving door, will I find a way to grow?

I scare myself, but I hold on tight, to the flicker of hope in the darkest night. For though I fear the path ahead, I dream of a life where my soul is led.

Not by the shadows of my past, but by a future, bright and vast. To break the cycle, to stand and see, a world of freedom, a chance to be.

So here I sit, with a heart that’s torn. Fighting the fear of a life reborn. In this prison, I strive to mend. To find a way, to a brighter end.

surreal poetrysad poetry
Like

About the Creator

C. D. Guzman

After a long 18 years I am finally a free man.

Welcome to my therapy, my thoughts, my struggles, my life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.