Poets logo

My Maria

My Love

By C. D. GuzmanPublished 12 days ago 1 min read

To my Maria, my love, my light, It pains me deeply, in this endless night. Knowing our daughter, so innocent, so dear, will grow her first ten years without me near.

I tried to escape, to leave behind the shadows of a life unkind. Dreamt of a future, bright and true. To give a better life to both of you.

But here I sit, in this prison cold, my heart heavy, my spirit old. I failed you both, in ways so vast. The hopes we cherished now shadows of the past.

As the days drag on, and the nights grow long, I think of you, my love, and our unsung song. Of her first steps, her laugh, her tears, moments lost, now blurred by fears.

I see her in my mind, her eyes so bright, A reflection of love in the pale moonlight. Her tiny hands, reaching out in vain, to a father bound in sorrow and pain.

I'm sorry, my Maria, for the life I led, for the dreams we built, now cold and dead. I wish I could hold you, tell you it's alright. But here I am, lost in this endless night.

Know that my love for you both is strong, a beacon that guides me through days so long. And though I miss her life, her early years, I hold onto the hope through the veil of tears.

For one day, this cell will open wide, and I'll return to stand by your side. Until then, my love, keep faith and stay strong. For our love endures, a melody lifelong.

To my Maria, my heart's true song, I dream of the days when I’ll right this wrong. Till then, I remain in shadows confined, with thoughts of you and her, my soul's solace combined.

surreal poetrysad poetry

About the Creator

C. D. Guzman

After a long 18 years I am finally a free man.

Welcome to my therapy, my thoughts, my struggles, my life.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    C. D. GuzmanWritten by C. D. Guzman

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.