Poets logo

The Color Red

Ode to a Slain Brother or Sister

By Michael Lee TuckerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

I saw the children playing in the sunlight,

I heard them laughing, I heard them singing.

Then I saw a flash so bright,

And heard the Thunder ringing.

The color red was everywhere.

The smell of red filled the air.

A mother cried out in despair.

Please, tell me why my son had to die.

The pain of red stained her dress,

As she gave her child his last caress.

she said, my son, may God bless,

your soul drowned in the color red.

Red is angry; red is hot; red is violent.

But we seem to like a lot its different hues.

We won't stop till every voice is silent.

Red’s a color we love to abuse.

The color red has marked my hand,

Don't ask my name for it is man.

Look at my deeds, and you'll understand,

All about the color red.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Michael Lee Tucker

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.