Poets logo

THE CHILDREN HAVE GROWN

nothing beats the love for a child

By Margaret BrennanPublished 24 days ago 1 min read
9

THE CHILDREN HAVE GROWN

Nothing beats the love for a child

***********************

I stood at the doorway and waved farewell,

My eyes, now misting with tears.

I study the men who had once been my “boys”,

And remember many past years.

**

I’m not crying tears caused by sadness;

It’s the love in my heart that is shown.

I look at my children with pride in my heart

And reflect at how much they’ve grown.

**

There had been many heartaches and struggles

While raising my sons all alone.

I did what I could and what I thought was right,

Since suddenly being left on my own.

**

Many times I thought I’d never make it;

But my sons backed me up all the way.

Every night in my room, I’d get on my knees

And thank God for the end of the day.

**

I look at my children, both men now.

They have wives and kids of their own.

I cry tears of pride with heart-bursting love

As I think just how much they’ve grown.

Family
9

About the Creator

Margaret Brennan

I am a 77-year old grandmother who loves to write, fish, and grab my camera to capture the beautiful scenery I see around me.

My husband and I found our paradise in Punta Gorda Florida where the weather always keeps us guessing.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • D.K. Shepard23 days ago

    Such a sincere and beautiful sentiment, Margaret! Very clear you're a proud mother!

  • This was so touching and emotional. Loved your poem!

  • Denelsia Walker24 days ago

    Awesome!

  • Gloria Penelope24 days ago

    I love the feeling of having children and grandchildren. It's a big blessing to have them in your life. Great story Margaret. I enjoyed reading it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.