Poets logo

The Calm of the Sea

Like us - not always what it seems

By Dana CrandellPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - November 2023
42
The Calm of the Sea
Photo by Silas Baisch on Unsplash

Hypnotically rhythmic,

Pushing steadily shoreward,

Swells timed perfectly.

Rising.

Falling.

Placidly gliding ahead,

Keeping the pace,

Minding the distance.

Peaks curling gently

Until gravity wins,

Then folding in a graceful arc

To be absorbed once again.

Clockwork.

Choreographed.

Just beneath the glassy surface - turmoil.

A world of chaos, unseen.

Roiling.

Swirling.

Churning its captives into fodder for the beasts.

Mind the troughs,

Lest they draw you to the dark, quiet depths, below.

Beware the peaks

Lest you be cast blindly away, to fall,

Who knows where.

Ride if you dare.

Glide with the persistent, pulsing thrust

To be welcomed by the sandy shores -

Or shattered on the rocks.

***

A metaphor? Perhaps.

An entry for Vocal's "Smooth" Challenge.

As always, if you enjoyed the read, please click on the little heart and comments are always greatly appreciated.

social commentarynature poetryCONTENT WARNING
42

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (34)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writer5 months ago

    Lest they draw you to the dark quiet depths below~ that was crazy good! Well done Dana!

  • DEUXQANE5 months ago

    I've come to appreciate nature so much since last year; however, after some time lots of introspection, I've realized that the part of nature I appreciate the most is the ocean, and so I've been seeking and soaking (haha, water adjectives) up as much aquatic content as I can. Thank you for making this, and I wish you the best of luck in the Smooth challenge!

  • Lamar Wiggins6 months ago

    Awesome imagery. I love poems about nature with a deeper meaning. Congrats, Dana!

  • Kristen Balyeat6 months ago

    Wow, so gorgeous and rhythmic— a beautiful poem about the water, but also felt those life parallels to my core. Gorgeous work, Dana! Your poetry…🤯

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    I am sorry to be late to the party on this one pal after Top Storydom and placing on the leaderboard, this is stunning though. Recently, your poems have been on an even higher level than usual! It's humbling and also so great to see and read! Well done and an awesome entry!

  • Phil Flannery6 months ago

    Very smooth Dana.

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    Congrats on this awesome top story Dana! ☺️👏

  • Donna Fox (HKB)6 months ago

    This is such a great metaphor!! I know you weren't totally sold that it is one but from my perspective it felt like one! This was relatable to me on how I feel about people or even how people might view me. Peaceful on the surface but there's a whole back of shit happening below the surface. Or even the reverse too when I look busy but no one's home upstairs! This was so beautifully written and was cause for some self reflection for me! Great work Dana and congrats on Top Story! Also good luck on the challenge!

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    AHhhh! The sea. Nothing is calmer. Meditative and calming, your words bring peace.

  • Heather Hubler6 months ago

    Those last two lines...so good!!! This was an imagery feast :) Fantastic work, Dana :) Congrats on Top Story!

  • Margaret Brennan6 months ago

    congratulations on TS. This was really wonderful. I never thought of waves like that but I will from now on. Beautiful insight. I love it.

  • JBaz6 months ago

    Congratulations Excellent choice for vocal to pick this

  • Judey Kalchik 6 months ago

    I can see that your great sense of rhythm manifests in many ways. Congratulations on top story!

  • Gerald Holmes6 months ago

    Loved this, Deliciously Naughty! Congrats on Top Story

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Congrats on the TS.

  • Test6 months ago

    Adore it! Fantastic work! Dana, this is absolutely lovely ❤️😁.

  • Caroline Jane6 months ago

    I was literally compelled to open this. Because a. You wrote it and b. I am obsessed with the sea. Hypnotically rhythmic 💯

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Brilliantly written!!! Loved you nature poem!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    Excellent interpretation of the challenge… I love waves. I can’t surf but like boogie boarding (not sure if you use this term where you live..) so I really liked all the feelings associated with that which your poems skillfully captures. 🌊 ☺️

  • Two words came to mind once I was done reading this and they are, "Hauntingly beautiful"! This was such a magnificent poem!

  • Meagan Dion6 months ago

    Love it! Great job!

  • Moe Radosevich6 months ago

    Fantastic buddy, had me surfing even though I never have before 😊😊

  • JBaz6 months ago

    Well done and a great entry for the challenge

  • Real Poetic6 months ago

    Great entry! 💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.