Poets logo

The Boy Who Played Me and My Best Friend

Dual Roles: A Tale of Friendship and Identity

By SumayaPublished 8 months ago 2 min read
2
The Boy Who Played Me and My Best Friend
Photo by Yuvraj Singh on Unsplash

Let’s go back to my college years, starting somewhere new and seeing new people. A time of youthful hope and innocence, I found myself drawn to a 6 ft 4 boy with light eyes and brunette hair.

His warm smile and natural smile were magnetic. I’ve never been so anxious and giggly around someone, I feel like ever since coming across him, I’ve lost common sense.

In the dining room, I saw a classmate talking to him and I quickly pulled her to the side and told her I really like this boy and for her to introduce me to him.

An hour later I received a Facebook request from him and I left school filled with anxiousness and butterflies. I got home and made my Facebook page neater, and then I accepted his request. This was the start of something magical… as I thought.

After three months of talking, an unexpected twist revealed a painful truth.

On the eve of my 17th birthday, my best friend called me sharing a secret that shattered my world. The boy I caught feelings for, was using me to get closer to this best friend, he had been charming her just like he charmed me.

My birthday should have been a joyful day, but I felt so betrayed.

The pain was profound, a heaviness in my chest made each breath a struggle. I felt foolish for trusting someone who had used my emotions against me.

I struggled with the event for a while thereafter, trying to find significance in the pain. I constructed barriers around my heart to protect myself while the wounds had time to heal.

It became difficult for me to totally trust anyone because I was concerned that nice gestures might conceal ulterior motivations. I’ve come to realize not everyone has the same motives, therefore I have to be careful with my trust.

When I turned 25 years old, the scars were still there, serving as a constant reminder of how vulnerable opening up to others can be. This experience of heartache and redemption serves as a constant reminder to proceed with caution while keeping the door open to the possibility of trust.

fact or fictionheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Sumaya

Step into a realm of inspiration—where resilience, unwavering passion, and the joy of lifelong learning intertwine. Join my journey, fueled by a passion for writing and reading, as we embrace uncertainty, spark growth, and redefine success.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)8 months ago

    Indeed 😉❤️👌 Proceed with Caution🚧 Great Article-

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.