Poets logo

How A Song Traumatised My Childhood and Continues to Haunt Me 20 Years Later!

How One Song Ignited a Lifetime of Fear

By SumayaPublished 8 months ago 2 min read
Like
How A Song Traumatised My Childhood and Continues to Haunt Me 20 Years Later!
Photo by Caleb Woods on Unsplash

Join me as I explore a very personal childhood trauma that has haunted me for more than 20 years and caused me to run from a certain song in terror. You might be thinking “Why does a song have such power over someone’s emotions?” That’s the mystery I’m going to solve, I suppose.

Let’s travel back in time to when I was a kid, the time of Tamagotchis, Beanie Babies, and Spice Girls. During that time, music served as a fantastic portal to other realms and feelings for me. The Prodigy’s “Firestarter,” however, terrified my young heart from within this musical fantasy.

This song, with its pulsing beats and razor-sharp lyrics, became a cause of terror for reasons that I couldn’t possibly explain. My mental landscape was permanently altered by the music video’s disturbing imagery and unrelenting intensity.

You’d assume that as you become older, your childhood fears would vanish like distant memories. ‘Firestarter’ didn’t let go of me, though. In fact, the complete opposite. When I heard the music in public, I had an unexplainable terror. The hammering beat and the eerie words made me flee, leaving everyone else confused.

I frequently find myself wondering “why” I have this strange phobia. Was there a secret memory, an event, or a dream that connected the music to my first anxieties? Or was it something quite different — a symptom of the fears and worries that all kids experience from time to time?

In actuality, I might never fully comprehend the “why,” but I’ve learned to embrace the fact that I won’t always have the answers. Trauma, particularly early trauma, has obscure roots and is complicated.

Exposure therapy is a method for addressing and reducing irrational anxieties, and the idea behind it is appealing. In a secure and controlled environment, it entails progressively exposing yourself to the underlying cause of the worry.

I couldn’t help but consider whether exposure treatment may assist me in overcoming my anxiety about this song. I hoped that by becoming completely lost in the music, I might be able to desensitize my emotional reaction and regain some emotional control.

Accepting the Healing Journey

Therefore, I am here to share my experience with childhood trauma and the mysterious phobia of “Firestarter.” It serves as a reminder that even seemingly little previous experiences may have a significant influence on who we are now.

Is being so terrified of a song a little silly? Perhaps. But fear is a genuine and strong feeling, regardless of how absurd it may seem.

I set out on the route of exposure treatment with a sense of curiosity and hope. I have no idea where this journey will take me, but I’m prepared to confront my fear and discover the healing potential that is inside.

Remember that you’re not alone if you’ve had childhood traumas that have continued to impair your adult life. The first step towards comprehension and healing may occasionally be discussing our experiences and looking for support in counseling. I, on the other hand, am determined to defeat it and, in doing so, to defeat a portion of my history that has imprisoned me for far too long. Here’s to the beauty of healing one step at a time, the strength of resiliency, and the bravery to face our anxieties.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Sumaya

Step into a realm of inspiration—where resilience, unwavering passion, and the joy of lifelong learning intertwine. Join my journey, fueled by a passion for writing and reading, as we embrace uncertainty, spark growth, and redefine success.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.