Poets logo

The Blue Billboard

My untouchable guy

By Nadia IrisPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1

A teenage perspective

Of romance is sweet

A chance for True Love

Feels not like defeat

A fresh pair of eyes

Leaves opportunity ripe

A new day. A bright heart

Brings forth all the hype

A cold Tuesday morning

On-the-way-to-school-drive

Something reminded me

That I Am Alive

A moment in time

Linking future and past

Still in the present

My mind opening fast

Stopped still at a crossing

I lifted my head

And that’s when his face

Was directly ahead

A colossal Blue Billboard

That seemed blindingly bright

The intensity of him

Sent my heart an invite

A chance to accept him

Within me - I took

Time froze like the climax

Of a marvellous book

A stranger unknown

Yet familiarly mine

I remembered his eyes

Like a symbol or sign

An eruption of heart waves

Expanding so far

My awareness felt wholly

From Earth-base to Star

Two people in time

So unlikely to meet

An actor, a star

And a girl on the street

Seeming painfully distant

In all possible ways

Yet my soul was at home

In my desperate gaze

I saw the whole advert

Propaganda at best

The actor, the character

And me - in arrest

I tapped into his silence

It shook me wide awake

While I shifted my eyes

To the words “Prison Break

All probable elements

Came together as one

My own escape plan

Had already begun

It felt epic and grand

We were on the same quest

He’s escaping the bars

And I’m freeing my chest

I knew that I knew him

I had nothing to prove

Yet my heart jumped in panic

When we started to move

I had fallen in love

With a moment in time

That compares not at all

With the words in this rhyme

Forever and too short

And gone in a flash

His face disappearing

- Now I felt the backlash

I walked around classrooms

But my heart wasn’t there

I left myself caught

In my love-at-first-stare

I now needed freedom

From the fence and the wall

My whole world in his eyes

And his blue overall

Logic had set in

How elusive his soul

Was the man that I loved

The same man as his role?

Observing the TV

I wanted to cry

I was joyful and broken

My untouchable guy

A man of few words

Through intelligent eyes

I watched him in silence

And wonder and sighs

A fictional character

Similar to his truth

I fell for a ghost

In the prime of my youth

His persona evolved

And I matured inside

All possible truths

Of Realism denied

The laughs and the pass-offs

“It’s a teenager’s crush”

Meant little to me

For I cherished the rush

The combining of beauty

Between peace and a thriller

I fell in love with a man

Who is called Wentworth Miller

love poems
1

About the Creator

Nadia Iris

• I write from a place of sincerity •

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.